CollectionDX Network

Chaos Darkness

Comments

10 comments posted
We didn't talk too much in

We didn't talk too much in this one, now did we :P ? Nice fig, but I'm missing you opinion on that.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 15 March, 2009 - 19:07
With a lot of these Ultra

With a lot of these Ultra Kaiju, there is really not that much to say. The purpose of these type of reviews are more to catalog these items than anything else.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 16 March, 2009 - 10:16
That's part of the reason I

That's part of the reason I haven't reviewed more of my vinyl collection. It's really hard to come up with new stuff to talk about. The pictures say everything. (I'm also too lazy and I have lots still being displayed hung up in their bags that I don't want to open. Another reason is that I have lots of glowies, but my camera takes terrible glow pictures. And I don't think you should review a glowie without a shot of it glowing!)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 16 March, 2009 - 11:27
Is there a lot to be said?

Is there a lot to be said? It's a soft vinyl toy. I figure these products are always a situation of "If you like how it looks, get it" as they're all generally the same in terms of construction and articulation, right?

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 15 March, 2009 - 19:31
Yeah, I just can't imagine

Yeah, I just can't imagine there being much to say about this guy. Mass produced, factory painted, realistic sculpt. Done.

I am a little curious about this whole "card ass" thing, though! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 16 March, 2009 - 09:42
We could add...

..how long it would take for a dog to chew through it.

..just a thought. ;P

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 16 March, 2009 - 14:45
This really makes me wish

This really makes me wish all games were region free.I'd love to play this on my Wii when it comes out,but I can't without some sort of software hack that voids the warranty. I suppose there's always the chance it will come out in America like the SNES game did,but I'm not holding my breath.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 March, 2009 - 16:14
Sweetness

I love these things. You guys have a point, but these chintzy vinyls are an art unto themselves, featuring tons of paint variations, just like with the fancy vinyl, only not as in your face about it. Real production stuff, like, "I ran/ I'm running out of silver paint..." That still happens all the time with these things, owing to a certain amount of craftsmanship involved in painting them, and it makes collecting them fun. Plus they're uniquely Japanese.

Thanks for explaining the video game card and the excellent Wii rumor.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 16 March, 2009 - 16:32
This has been mentioned on

This has been mentioned on here before by people far more elequent than me,but what makes this awesome is that it's a TOY. This isn't a 200 dollar collection of tiny parts that can't stand on it's own without a display base. It doesn't have switchable hands or a "perfect transformation",it's a toy. Children who like this show buy this guy to fight Ultraman Cosmos out in their yard. There's something cool about that that a direct market "collectible" can never replace or duplicate.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 March, 2009 - 20:56
Looks sorta like the gorilla

Looks sorta like the gorilla general from Planet of the Apes, complete with bulbous-funky helm, got turned into some Guyver-bio-armor baddie.

Runaphen's picture
Posted by Runaphen on 16 March, 2009 - 23:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net