CollectionDX Network

Fast and The Furious 1970 Dodge Charger

Comments

21 comments posted
good review, but to me this

good review, but to me this stretches the limits of what I would think is related to the content of the site. It's not nostalgic, nor is it character driven. The movie kind of stupid as well.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 19 October, 2009 - 15:29
Ditto

Yeah, kind of agree on this one... and yeah...worst movie ever.

Ever.

...but a good review. ;)
________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 19 October, 2009 - 19:44
Ditto II

nice review but no sci-fi or fantasy bent...no reviews please of the the General Lee or the Starsky and Hutch Grand Tourino, or Scarface's Grand Prix,,,
Question what about K.I.T.T or K.A.R.R...they seem to fit because of A.I aspect to car...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 19 October, 2009 - 22:09
I'm right there with ya on

I'm right there with ya on all of that, apex3.

I would say that KITT and KARR could be posted here without question.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 October, 2009 - 04:13
No, the lunch box did

No, the lunch box did that...not this.

Cyclone Blue

"No Gnu Is Good Gnu Like Gary Gnu!"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 21 October, 2009 - 06:02
Yeah, Its a good review but

Yeah, Its a good review but I agree that it does not fit the site, but since its here I'll make a comment. I dont have this car, but I too am surprised that ERTL did not at least retool the engine. As a car guy, Fast and Furious in general has never gotten any of the technical things right, inside or out of the movie...even the toy franchise has errors. Dont even get me started on Tokyo Drift. As a professional drifter in real life, I think they have made a joke out of drifting, and yet somehow I have seen all the movies, go figure

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 19 October, 2009 - 16:29
I think this one is a really

I think this one is a really close call. If it didn't actually say "Fast and the Furious" on the packaging, I would definitely say it didn't belong. It could be the exact same toy but for some reason, that makes the difference to me. Since the product is media driven, I think it's ok. For movies like that, the cars usually are the characters. (Granted, I haven't actually seen the movie myself... ).

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 19 October, 2009 - 16:35
This is a [good] OT review

This is a [good] OT review for CDX. Remove it, pl0x.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 October, 2009 - 17:07
OK, I have to jump in here.

OK, I have to jump in here. We had a poll about cars on CDX and from this poll you can clearly see that more people wanted 1/18 scale cars on CDX as long as its Movie, TV, anime related or pop-culture, than those who didn't want it at all. Like it or not, "Fast and the Furious" films have a very large following so that makes it pop-culture and its a movie! It fits the criteria in my book. Great review Phat Boy! Cant wait for the Mad Max interceptor review!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 19 October, 2009 - 20:14
uhh...Dan?

I have a suggestion?

hows about a http://www.diecastwheels.collectiondx.com just like what you did with http://www.anime.collectiondx.com?

and all these model car enthusiasts/collectors would get to post their prized collections on the site without getting oppressed...oops! that was a little intense... I meant dominated!

Cyclone Blue

"No Gnu Is Good Gnu Like Gary Gnu!"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 20 October, 2009 - 05:59
ooooooh Mad Max

ooooooh Mad Max Interceptor!! Ok, I gotta say I am looking forward to that!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 19 October, 2009 - 22:10
Act The Fool!!!

TOO FAST!!..too fast...TOO FURIOUS!!..too furious..

yada..yada..yada..yada..yada..yada..yada..so tell me whatcha' gonna do?!!

ACT THE FOOL!!!

Me hopes somebody posts a review of that scaled down BLACK HUMMER H2 from the GI Joe: ROTC Movie by Mattel!

Cyclone Blue

"No Gnu Is Good Gnu Like Gary Gnu!"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 20 October, 2009 - 05:22
I would rather get kicked in

I would rather get kicked in the groin than watch this movie again. It seems like something created by the Russians to lower our kids' test scores.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 20 October, 2009 - 08:03
Although I enjoyed the movie

Although I enjoyed the movie for what it was (a "turn off your brain and have fun" flick), I gotta agree that a review of one of the cars doesn't seem to fit CDX at all. It's not quirky, vintage, Japanese, sci-fi, or anything else that remotely resembles the other reviews here. (KITT, BTTF DeLorean, etc all seem fine due to the sci-fi element.)

The only other review that seemed as out of place was the recent Halo game review. That was certainly more on-topic for CDX, but it seemed odd to review something that has already been reviewed on dozens (if not hundreds) of other sites. Other than the author practicing his writing, I didn't see the point.

Both reviews (car and game) are of high quality (particularly the game review), but both are real head-scratchers.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 20 October, 2009 - 11:36
So what does it turn into?

So what does it turn into?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 October, 2009 - 13:44
Yeah-! Speak up,

Yeah-! Speak up, now!

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 October, 2009 - 13:58
In my opinion anything

In my opinion anything involving Vin Diesel should be considered sci-fi because he clearly does not exist.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 October, 2009 - 15:24
A Formula One car of course!

A Formula One car of course! Isn't it obvious...LOL!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 20 October, 2009 - 15:28
I got that one right here!

I got that one right here!

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 20 October, 2009 - 16:16
That would be awesome. Just

That would be awesome. Just like the Batmobile from Batman Returns.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 October, 2009 - 16:35
Eh?!

I think this review is totally out of place here...Nice review but why am i reading about a toy based on the Fast and the Furious?! Lets get back to roots boys...giant robots, anime, sci fi collecting goodness.

truewanderer's picture
Posted by truewanderer on 20 October, 2009 - 15:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net