CollectionDX Network

Wing Gundam Zero

Comments

9 comments posted
Little nit-picking

Seraphim have 6 wings. They use their 4 extra wings to shield themselves from Gods Glory.

Isa. 6:1 - Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly.

Aside from that nice review. Great looking model. Reminds me I need to sit down and work on some of the Wing models I have sitting around my basement.

Shadow27's picture
Posted by Shadow27 on 11 July, 2007 - 14:18
Thanks for the update.

To Shadow.

First off, thanks for reading. Always a pleasure to write here at CDX, and equally swell to hear what people think. Second of all. Thanks for the reclarification of the Seraphim. But for the sake of picking, Wing Zero's wings alone would qualify it as a 'Seraph'
According to myth a Seraph is a lesser class of Seraphim which typically have 4 wings. The aspect of Wing Zero being compared to a Seraphim full class comes from its binder wings generating thrust that give off the impression of the six wings. The same thing could also be applied to the Xenogears (title mech of the classic Playstation RPG 'Xenogears'). It by design is four 'wing' like extensions off the back of the body (two out of the torso, two out of the hips) but when at full power generates a set of light wings which again quantify the six wings.

Just a little knowledge to toss around all in good faith and fun. Thanks for reading.

Rob.

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 11 July, 2007 - 19:04
Paint & Panel Lines

Rob

What a great review, I thought I wrote long reviews but you cover so much great information! It's great to see model kits reviewed and I plan to review some model kits for DX soon.

Real quick question what paints and airbrush did you use to paint the kit and what is your panel lines technique? (ie do you paint then gloss then put the panel lines on). If you could include what paints and or materials you use for construction in future reviews that would be great.

Looking forward to see more!

Cheers

Leonardo

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 12 July, 2007 - 00:38
I knew I forgot something.

Well, I knew I forgot something with this review, but for most of my work I use two paints:

Testors Model Master Acryl (I use this brand for just about everything)

Testors (generic) Enamel.

The generic Testors enamel I reserve for metals such as gold (like how I painted Wing Zero's trim) and silver for under a base coat for optics. The Model Master Acryl is of course Acrylic, its got its own type of thinner, but works equally well when dilluted with water. It has a full range of colors from high gloss to dull flats and a great assortment of grays. It does cost more, but you get more with the 1 oz bottle compared to the 1/4 to 1/2 oz of Enamel. You can find this stuff at your local hobby store or by going directly to Testors (thats what I usually do)

The colors I find myself using the most are:

Aircraft Interior Black
Engine Gray
Gunship Gray
CLEAR (coat) Green, Blue, and Red

And then there are assortments that I find are easy to use for just about every situation.

Wing Zero in particular used a mix of Druid Blue and Clear Blue for the tone and topcoat finish.

I don't entirely Airbrush, I bought a small pump and spraper from Testors (their Mini model from Wal-Mart, and a double trigger sprayer) and I've used it on some occassions, mostly weapon painting on a large scale: maybe four to five kits worth.
I typically hand paint but I've used the sprayer for long jobs such as the wings on the Infinite Justice Gundam (see Review here on CDX). With trimmed synthetic hair brushes, usually something out of the nickel/dime bin at the art supply store.

As for panel lining. I've settled with a combination: Gundammarker GM01 and Rapidoliner .25mm tip. Gundammarkers work on areas of conjoint lines and deep cut grooves while the Rapidoliner works for sharp outlining lines and filling in. In some cases, I do find myself using black paint in a wash for getting broad areas with using less ink.

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 12 July, 2007 - 08:43
I like to use Testors Model

I like to use Testors Model Masters Acryl. I think they're easier to clean up than enamels, and also easier to thin.

For Gundams the main colors I use are White, Engine Gray (for joints and machinery parts), Turn Signal Yellow, and Insignia Red (usually matte or semi-gloss, though I like gloss for small red details like chins and the parts on the V-Fins). I prefer to keep the reds, whites and yellows uniform on my Gundams and let the blues differ. The blues I use most often are French, Cobalt, and Dark, but I'm always searching for the perfect color most of the time.

For the eyes and "cameras" I put down a layer of silver paint, then overpaint that with a clear green, but as soon as I find a suitable metallic green I'm going to switch to that because this method is a hassle.

I USUALLY put down the base coats (I rarely use primer) and then overcoat that with Future before doing the panel lines. I use a mix of 1 part Flat Black and 4 parts water. You just dip your brush into this and let capillary action do the rest, and then simply wipe away the excess (and the Future makes this much easier to do than on a regular matte finish.)

Heavyarms
thatsjustprime.blogspot.com
addictedtoplastic.blogspot.com

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 13 July, 2007 - 13:06
I hope that the MG (and HG

I hope that the MG (and HG 1/144) treatment is given to more of the AU Gundam designs (especially Gundam Wing). I'd love to see a HGAU series.

Heavyarms
thatsjustprime.blogspot.com
addictedtoplastic.blogspot.com

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 13 July, 2007 - 13:09
Considering MG #100

An AU line would be great. Considering just about every machine of importance to the Universal Century has been captured in HGUC glory (Even the big Dendrobium), we're starting to see an influx of alternative UC designs such as the recent releases from Blue Destiny, although we're still coming up short on lesser UCs: GM Custom/Cannons from 0083, GM-Ground Types from 08th Team, the GM-Sniper 2s from 0080 and my personal favorite the Jegans from Char's Counterattack. Aside from those, its only a matter of time. Besides, Gundam Wing's in its Renaissance in Japan now as we speak and already they've re-released the PG Wing Zero Custom.
In the meantime, we've got #100 to look forward to: The Turn A. Syd Mead's counterculture Gundam. It floats like a Moonlight Butterfly and stings like a Gundam.

all the while, I'm still waiting for my MG Powered GM (from 0083).

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 14 July, 2007 - 08:44
With the recent addition of

With the recent addition of the Gundam Ground Type, I'm hoping the EZ8 isn't far behind (although the original kits are HG enough for me already) I have been saying I wanted a GM Sniper II for years. I thought that since the Cold Climate, Command, and Command Space types from 0080 were released we'd get to see one. Oh, well, at least now they have a mold they can base it on.

Man, don't get me started on a HG 1/144 scale wishlist. Nu Gundam, Sazabi, ZZ, all the Gundam W Gundams and MS (Leo, Virgo, Tallgeese), all the remaining "Title" Gundams for that matter, Quin Mantha, I could go on all day.

There was a PG Wing Gundam on clearance at Amazon for $70 bucks a while back. I'm still kicking myself for not getting one.

Heavyarms
thatsjustprime.blogspot.com
addictedtoplastic.blogspot.com

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 17 July, 2007 - 14:54
MG or PG wing zer ocustom

Do you think the PG is worth it over the new MG version. I hear the PG has some issues with balance and stuff. Since the MG has come out so much later I would assume they have fixed some of the issues. Is the PG really that great? or should i save my money and just get the MG.

HanSoo417's picture
Posted by HanSoo417 on 3 October, 2007 - 16:57
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net