CollectionDX Network

Luke Skywalker's X-Wing Fighter with R2-D2

Comments

8 comments posted
the r2-d2 figure that comes

the r2-d2 figure that comes with this ship is actually one of the better r2-d2's ever made by hasbro. And i'd have to agree, there is just way too much weathering on this set. It's still really fun though!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 19 November, 2008 - 17:00
Regarding the weathering,

Regarding the weathering, this reminds me of Hasbro's release of the cartoon-accurate colorscheme MP Starscream. And just like with that toy, I'm confident a little 91% rubbing alcohol and a bunch of cotton swabs will clean that sucker RIGHT up!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 20 November, 2008 - 10:21
This is a remold of the best

This is a remold of the best X-wing toy ever - the Power of the Force Power FX X-Wing (Which I will review at some point). This toy loses the fancy electronics, including light and sound gimmicks, and removes the built in Luke Skywalker pilot.

This version I think is meant to replicate being dirty as hell from being pulled out of the swamps of Dagobah. notice in the packaging it's half submerged in water. For that, the weathering is great. Later on they reissued this again, only this time including plastic foliage to drape over the X-wing and also a swamp monster.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 20 November, 2008 - 10:52
i'm very happy to see these

i'm very happy to see these reviews here. I've always viewed CDX as intelligent guys with senses of humor, reviewing the "best of the best" in the toy world.

It would be sweet to have a "best of star wars" series of reviews, as there's so much garbage out there, it'd be cool for parents and collectors alike, as there's 5,000 different Han Solos, it'd be nice to know which one is the one to get without pouring over 1,000 reviews from the hardcore SW guys out there.

I'd love to see more Sci-Fi reviews around here!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 20 November, 2008 - 12:08
Thanks for the compliment!

Thanks Big R for the compliment and comments about CollectionDX. Although I don't collect the new Star Wars toys it's great to see these reviews as well and to see what's available on the market.

I personally have some Sci fi Model Kit reviews coming up shortly including MPC's Snow Speeder and Tie Interceptor kit, ATM's Star Trek TOS USS Enterprise, Imai's Thunderbird #4 and MPC's Black Hole Maxmillian model kit.

Dan, One question about the X-Wing is this a brand new molding or based off the 1980's release?

Cheers!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 November, 2008 - 15:13
Hasbro's version of the X-wing is way different

Hi Leonardo,
Hasbro's version of the X-wing is larger, greater detailed and more accurate to the movie than the original 1980's Kenner version. just click on this link and you will see exactly what I mean.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 20 November, 2008 - 15:29
I see it now

I just couldn't remember but now I see it, wow what a better improvement over the kenner original, which looks so much smaller. It's just so hard to tell these days with so many reissues and Kenner reissuing the 80's toys in the 1990's.

Thanks,

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 November, 2008 - 16:43
I second Sanjeev's idea.

A little rubbing alcohol and this (and that Starscream) could be very more cool looking.
I like that they removed the cockpit figure. Wasn't it annoying as a kid when the pilots to toys and models were just a head sticking up?

The dirty paintjob is allegedly for a "Dagobah" look, but I do wonder if it's to hide other things. I don't mind an accurately painted figure now and then, but I think they're subscribing to the 1990's McFarlane idea of "toys that look absolutely FILTHY are cool!" a bit too much. (Especially in Starscream's case... when did he ever have filthy, blackened afterburners?)

Uh oh.. are one of those laser barrels bent? >__<

Gripes aside, it's still the best X-Wing toy I've seen.
I can't remember the last time I purchased a Star Wars toy of any sort, but I do like seeing in-depth reviews on them.

JINZONINGEN 73's picture
Posted by JINZONINGEN 73 on 24 November, 2008 - 16:04
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net