CollectionDX Network

PA-SP Gao Kong

Comments

14 comments posted
Oh Dammit EVA!

You found one of my Sentai Grails. Thank you the giant photos. I had a few questions about this toy, and you answered them all.

One day I shall complete a set of Gaoranger/Wild Force mecha.... I hope.

secretcode's picture
Posted by secretcode on 23 November, 2010 - 23:14
Re: Oh Dammit EVA!

We aim to please at CollectionDX.com. ^^

I already got one of mine when I acquired Gao Hunter. My new Super Sentai Holy Grail is a DX Flash King.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 November, 2010 - 01:06
Funny you mention Flash King.

Funny you mention Flash King. I just acquired one and am preparing to do a review of it. :P

servbot30's picture
Posted by servbot30 on 24 November, 2010 - 05:56
Re: Funny you mention Flash King.

O_O

(*cries*)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 November, 2010 - 13:51
HA.

Now you know my pain.

; _ ;

secretcode's picture
Posted by secretcode on 24 November, 2010 - 14:18
Re: Ha.

No, I mean he beat me to a review of it.

I haven't been able to review any pre-PR designs yet, and that was a big one I wanted hands on.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 November, 2010 - 17:29
I got my Gao Kong...

...a few months ago from another Power Ranger collector; $90 for Kong, Tiger, Shark, Bison, Eagle, Bear and Polar. When they arrived, however, parts of Tiger and Shark were broken, and the paint and chrome on Bison and Eagle were badly scuffed. So, I ended up buying a Gao King and Elephant from a Japanese proxy service.

A little more than I wanted to spend, but Gao Knight is definitely one of my favorite mecha of all time. I do agree, however, he looks ridiculous without the sword and shield since Tiger and Shark were designed to be used for the smaller Gao Lion.

King Brachion's picture
Posted by King Brachion on 24 November, 2010 - 22:57
Re: I got my Gao Kong...

Wow, that's a sad story. I'm sorry to hear bad luck befell you on that sale.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 November, 2010 - 03:39
I've been focusing on pre-PR

I've been focusing on pre-PR toys as a start for my sentai collection while I have the money to afford the more pricey pieces. Flash King is one of my favourite designs from that era and I had been keeping an eye open for an affordable specimen for a while. Since there isn't any video reviews of it, there is a bit of mystique to the figure. I told myself I'd throw one up if I ever got a chance. Last week I got that chance. I don't mean to slight you or try to screw you out of a review. By all means throw one up too if you get the chance. Dual reviews could be really cool. So nothing personal and I'm sorry if I look like I'm being a dick.

servbot30's picture
Posted by servbot30 on 25 November, 2010 - 05:51
Re: I've been focusing on pre-PR

Naw, no offense taken, you simply beat me to the punch. It's happened before, it'll happen again.
Besides, I don't have a Flash King right now and it'll be a while before I find one in good enough condition to warrant paying an exorbitant price for it.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 November, 2010 - 12:28
Gao Kong/Red Gorilla....Top Banana!

Hiya Eva, it's David Monid (dave3184) on Youtube, don't worry I won't throw any Eva references at you. I'm going to be serious.

Although I've only got the Red Gorilla zord, GaoKong's American or in this case European counterpart, I certanly like what I see. Despite the fact he comes in a seperate set, it's still possible to create the GaoKnight combination, except for the Elephant, if you have the Wild Force Megazord set. I'm content with that, it would still be a very heavyly built mecha filled with diecast metal all over and more so with the diecast on the Red Gorilla, of which I have to agree with you, diecast is AWSOME! The different paint applications shouldn't effect my enjoyment of it either. It was your video though that helped convince me to purchise the European version at least. Thanks again. Keep up the good work. :)

DurelKing31584's picture
Posted by DurelKing31584 on 21 July, 2011 - 14:09
GAO!

I've been a fan of Gaoranger for a while, ever since I was a kid. Looking at your reviews (I tend to read them again and again) takes me back, and has actually gotten me to try and grab a few Power Animals myself. I have a Gao Dias, and I just found a sealed Gao Ape for cheap and picked that up.

Orichalcon's picture
Posted by Orichalcon on 15 October, 2011 - 08:37
Re: GAO!

Well, I'm please to hear you like my reviews enough that they keep you coming back!

Aww, I wish you had reached me sooner because I have an extra set of out-of-box Gao Dias and Gao Giraffe I wanted to sell as a pair!

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 October, 2011 - 15:12
Awk!

Sorry about that!

I may be getting my hands on a partially complete Black Gaoking soon, which amounts to just the Lion, Tiger, Eagle, and Shark without the tail (GaoBuffalo added for completion).

Orichalcon's picture
Posted by Orichalcon on 17 October, 2011 - 09:34
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net