CollectionDX Network

DX Hyakujuu Gattai Gao King

Comments

18 comments posted
Glad to see you decided to

Glad to see you decided to come back tot these and do their video reviews.

I think this is the series I like best. The figures where pretty good, and offered the most articulation up to that point.

Can't wait for the rest, specially Hunter Evil. I really liked that one.

This is probably the only series I actually watched the American Ranger version of almost in its entirety. It was not as painful as other Ranger shows I have to say.

Awesome work, keep it up.

overcracker's picture
Posted by overcracker on 26 April, 2010 - 12:05
Thank you! I had a month of

Thank you!

I had a month of no new reviews, so I figured I'd make good on my promise, and start doing catch-up video reviews.

I'm in the process of Gao Hunter Evil right now, with the others to follow. Everything I covered on CDX-proper, I'm gonna make a video for. Although, I'm not quite sure how to attack the multi-combos, where I showcase all the alternate combos that appear throughout the series.

When I'm done with all of them, I'll attach them to the text reviews then.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 April, 2010 - 13:44
DX GaoKing Bandai China edition

Pictures give the best idea:
http://i950.photobucket.com/albums/ad346/fivered05/119.jpg
This is Bandai China DX GaoKing. Quality is worse than Bandai America because it has ABSOLUTELY NO DIE CAST METAL CONTENT!.

http://i950.photobucket.com/albums/ad346/fivered05/120.jpg
Good point is, it combines good with the Power Animals from Bandai HK's releases.

http://i950.photobucket.com/albums/ad346/fivered05/GaoKingCombine.jpg
These are the results.

redracer2004's picture
Posted by redracer2004 on 15 May, 2010 - 21:00
Nice finds! So, only the

Nice finds!

So, only the die-cast metal was swapped out? Nothing else was changed? I'd call that a significant loss, but it was probably a ton cheaper because of it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 May, 2010 - 02:22
hmmm....

can we have this as a soul of chogokin? we have battle fever robo right? i'm sure to get this, dekaranger robo, bio robo, turbo robo, five robo, jet icarus, rv robo and ultimate daibouken if they release these as such

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 16 May, 2010 - 05:40
Had this discussion

Had this discussion elsewhere... SOC focuses largely on anime, so having the Battle Fever Robo and Leopaldon were exceptions. But I completely agree that they need to remake some of these.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 May, 2010 - 11:18
Even though I have the PR

Even though I have the PR release, it's still dripping with excellent quality. Bandai needs to go back to doing Sentai toys like this. I'm not fond of these lame gimmicks they've been coming up for the past five years (Goseijer's is SO lame. Dumb heads).

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 16 May, 2010 - 07:06
Oh, I absolutely HATE the

Oh, I absolutely HATE the GoHeadders (they're just so damned lazy designs!), and only plan to cover just the barest-minimum. Did I mention that block-formers really annoy me?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 May, 2010 - 11:20
Getting stupider...

Is it just me or the gimmicks of Super Sentai in the past few years are getting stupider by the year?

While the design for the DX GoseiGreat was barely decent, the fact that you have to collect different "heads" is what ticks me off. I think PLEX should just go back to basics - "Less is more" would be a better way to say it.

--------------------------------
Daishinken: Samurai Giri !!!

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 2 June, 2010 - 05:27
It's not just you. The

It's not just you. The problem is this: quality, transformations, and concepts are all being sacrificed in favor of the collecting gimmick(s).

The reason that the Power Animals and Shinobi Machines worked was because their accessories were self-contained within each mecha and didn't depend on other sets for the most part; if you didn't have one of the accessory mecha, you didn't lose out on anything. Every other series after 2002 (save for "MagiRanger", and perhaps "GekiRanger") had mecha that were accessory-dependent on their additional gimmicks as their selling point.

The other problem in making these accessory/collecting-driven is the simplification of materials and transformations. The GoHeadder mecha are brick-formers (which absolutely do not impress me, BTW) with very little movement individually or in transformation, but in a bad way unlike earlier Super Sentai mecha. Also, we haven't had die-cast metal since the Shinobi Machines in 2002.

The only thing, IMO, that has changed for the better is that they eliminated the need for decals; the Power Animals were the last to have any.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 June, 2010 - 11:16
Wait I thought...

Oh, I thought they stopped using decals after the Dekaranger toy line?

--------------------------------
天誅...パワーアロー!(Tenchu...Power Arrow!)

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 3 June, 2010 - 01:22
Oh, wait- you're right. The

Oh, wait- you're right. Some of the SPD badges were decals. I forgot.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 June, 2010 - 10:55
Korean Gao King

First of all, sorry for kind of reviving this review (I tried using the "Contact" tab on EVA_Unit_4A profile page, but it would just redirect to the main page).

I really like the Gao King design. I had a bootleg version of this toy when the PR Wild Force was airing and just loved it, however, being a bootleg, the quality was inferior and eventually the joints became loose and the bison broke.

These days I was searching for one of these on eBay when I found a Korean version of the toy (made by Bandai of Korea). This Korean version seems to be very much the same thing as the original version and is much cheaper (60 USD vs 180 USD), but I heard it has inferior quality plastic and less diecast.

Would someone know the differences between the original Japanese version and the Korean one? I'd really want to get this toy, but 180 USD is just too expensive...

LuizSSB's picture
Posted by LuizSSB on 25 September, 2011 - 16:28
This might help.

http://youtu.be/9qGvW7uR6vg (Korean version of Gao King)

Differences:

- The plastic they used is quite different but the plastic isn't as bad as I expected.
- They retained some of the die-cast metal, namely the feet of Gao Eagle and the metal thighs found in Gao Bison

I also got the Korean version of Gao Hunter today. Hey, at least it's a decent substitute over the DX Gao Hunter, especially the prices in eBay continue to soar high.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 5 October, 2011 - 08:10
TV Show Accuracy

Gao Lion's mouth for the Power Rangers Wild Force line is coloured Red instead of Black.

I'm buying myself a Deluxe GaoKing set (Original Japanese Version) because its TV show accurate.

Optimus Convoy 1984's picture
Posted by Optimus Convoy 1984 on 17 November, 2012 - 12:15
Love the GaoKing

I watched your review of this toy and saw how well made it is. The diecast in this toy really grabbed my attention and the chrome work really makes the toy shine.

I am amazed how the Wild Force Megazord is practically identical, despite the changes in the shoulder emblems being painted rather than decals as well as missing paint where decals were on the Japanese version.

After seeing a comment on how the Bandai China version had no diecast at all, I looked online at Yahoo Japan! and low and behold, I saw Power Animal toys that had no diecast at all and that they were the Bandai China version. A fine example at how good Bandai of America's quality was back then.

I so pray they do not build a ZordBuilder version of GaoKing; it would not be good in my opinion.

Since I watched your review, I am bidding on Yahoo Japan via a middleman service for a GaoKing. The middleman got me GaoGorilla, GaoPolar, and GaoBear. Let you know if I won the bid. Cheers!

Senjuto's picture
Posted by Senjuto on 25 April, 2013 - 09:53
GaoTiger - weak arm/hip joint

Hey,

I've managed to open my Gaotiger, and I can now diagnose the problem leading to the weight issue that causes the left arm to droop.

Basically, the tiger/lion joint is a small clip compressed by two very strong springs, so it's incredibly strong. But the locking system used for the arm ratchet is pathetically weak. There are other parts in the same figure made with the same plastic but thicker, and they're holidng together quite well.

If you find that the hip of the tiger joint is weak, you might also find it easier to rotate the tiger's head than when the figure was fresh out of the box; the same type of plastic, with the same thickness, is used there. All three parts are prone to cracking/disintegrating. In fact, the head is only designed to ratchet to every 30 degrees.

I'm going to try making resin or metal copies of these parts; failing that, metal.

(If you do plan to open a Gaotiger/jaguar/wolf, note that aside from the five screws holding the torso together, there are also two metal, threaded pins; one under the last complete black stripe before the tail, and the other directly below. They are *not* screws, and other than brute force I can't think of a way to open that part to access the mechanism for the back legs. I prised it open using thin steel plates/blades inserted into the widening crack between the body halves. Eventually I plan to remove these and replace with un-threaded locating pegs, which should do the same job.)

Anothersignalman's picture
Posted by Anothersignalman on 10 July, 2013 - 13:20
Dynarobo nod?

The carrier mode is like a homage to the similar carrier mode created by DynaGarry in the vintage Dynarobo set. I like that touch. Dynarobo was my first DX set of any kind back when I was a little shaver.

TheJud's picture
Posted by TheJud on 30 January, 2014 - 03:17
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net