CollectionDX Network

Big Scale Yamato

Comments

10 comments posted
One Big Yamato

17 inch... wow, that one big toy. I remember seeing this one on a Soul of Chogoukin book. I always like the design, too bad the cost and the size make me rethinking about buying this. Looks like I have to settle for a smaller ship.

Nice Review.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 30 January, 2008 - 23:15
Taito put out a soft vinyl

Taito put out a soft vinyl yamato that is about $20 us that seems about the same size. It might be what you are looking for.

Josh
------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 31 January, 2008 - 13:26
I bought this toy last year

I bought this toy last year when they re-released it.
I don't think I paid over $200. I felt the same way; the tiny pieces are a pain, and it is NOT meant to be played with.
But overall, I still love it, although I am afraid to even touch it.

el_super_guapo's picture
Posted by el_super_guapo on 31 January, 2008 - 13:08
I saw the Taito one locally.

I saw the Taito one locally. It's a great piece you can "swoosh" around without fear of losing $50 in parts as they fall off into the abyss.

http://www.hlj.com/product/TAT459121100

It's out of production - these Taito things are usually one run wonders - but I saw it last night 01-30-08. If you want it, I can try to grab it for you. I saw that Raideen they did too Josh. They're doing a nice big Cosmo too.

It reminds me of the Thunderbirds stuff they did a few years back. I got the TB2 they made and it's a great toy without the price of the Aoshima or the craziness of the Takara releases. As a lucky accident it's scale to the Konami gashapon of the pod vehicles.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 31 January, 2008 - 18:44
I've got the taito one

I've got the taito one coming to me, as well as captain harlock's arcadia, the trains from galaxy expres 999 and the blimp from queen esmereldas.. all for under $20 each, all from taito. Crazy. I've got the color and black raideen, reviews coming soon. for the price you cant go wrong.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 31 January, 2008 - 21:40
Where'd you nab the Taito

Where'd you nab the Taito Yamato?

-----
"Hey, uh...let's volt in."

Gigamach's picture
Posted by Gigamach on 1 February, 2008 - 16:36
YahooJapan. Tons on

YahooJapan. Tons on there.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 1 February, 2008 - 18:09
???

"The chimney behind the bridge houses a secret set of missiles." Chimney?!?!? CHIMNEY?!?!?!? It is called a STACK!!! Just for that nautical insult towards my favorite ship you should give me that TAITO Yamato that you got coming in... or at least hook me up with you contact...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 7 February, 2008 - 23:27
I'm not really sure what's

I'm not really sure what's up, but there has been a TON of Yamato love around lately. And I share that love.

thanks for the review. I've been really hopiung to get one of these, and while I appreciate the "unplayability" of this, I'd LOVE to have it on my desk, activating cannons and sending Cosmo Tigers on sortie.

As for that TAITO one...Hory Shid! I want it, if I could find it for that low-low price. Maybe I'll find one when I finally go to Japan in March? We'll see. Definately on the hunt for the Arcadia that comes out in Febuary...

-----
"Hey, uh...let's volt in."

Gigamach's picture
Posted by Gigamach on 31 January, 2008 - 20:16
Taito Hunting

Well, I guess it's time hunting that Taito's Yamato...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 31 January, 2008 - 20:49
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net