CollectionDX Network

Garada K7

Comments

8 comments posted
Comprehensive!

Thanks for the comprehensive review on these, Dave! I'd never really given any notice to the black Unifive Garada before...kinda snazzy. Honestly though, after reading this, all it really makes me want to do is pick up one of Tom's replicas. There's just so much MORE soul in the original sculpt than Unifive's pudgy offering...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 14 April, 2007 - 18:58
Who???

Do tell Sanjeev, who is Tom, and how do I get one of his replicas?

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 8 October, 2009 - 10:53
Tom is Tom Franck, former

Tom is Tom Franck, former owner of CoolJapaneseToys.com (back when it was actually cool) and the foremost Jumbo Machinder collector in the US. Back in the day, he made a custom replica of the Popy Garada K7 and posted it online to see if anyone could tell the difference. It fooled a lot of people, but not everyone. For years, he refused to sell any copies, until he finally got a real Garada a few years back and sold two to help him recoup the money. He is not making anymore, however.

Here is one he sold:

Photobucket

and here is one of the pictures of the original one he posted online, grouped with the rest of his jumbos and missing sickles (the idea being to suggest that he had found an incomplete one to help sell the idea that it might be authentic).

Photobucket

Tom has also made excellent customs of Giant Robo, Cho Jett Turbo (the CJT mascot), Ankoku Daishogun, Grossamu X2 and Ganira, in addition to a white Garada. The only ones he ever sold were Giant Robo, Cho Jett Turbo and Ankoku Daishogun, but there are very few of them around, he's not making more and those who have them, aren't likely to give them up any time soon.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 8 October, 2009 - 11:49
Glow version?

Who was it that did a custom glow version of this? Was it you Dave?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 16 April, 2007 - 13:15
Yes, it was me....

I also butchered the back of it's head to get the sickles at a more vintage-style angle. I wish the glow paint went on smoother/more uniformly and that I was better at painting and photographing it. I'm no Sanjeev, but here goes...

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 16 April, 2007 - 14:40
Love the sickle angles!

First off, good luck finding any of these versions these days! They are very popular and sell quickly for more than they released for by a long shot. I have the green Diamond vers. I would love to have all 3 but they aren't easy to locate. Any chance you would want to show the back of his head surgery with the lights on Dave? It looks better from the front for sure!
Thanks for the excellent review NekroDave!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 8 October, 2009 - 10:50
Actually, I ended up selling

Actually, I ended up selling off that glow Garada custom to Jerilock. It was a neat idea, but at the end of the day, I guess I decided I didn't need 4 Garadas.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 8 October, 2009 - 11:38
Fewture Garada K7

Hi guys,

This is my first post. I just recently started collecting jumbo machinders and this site has been an unbelievable resource! I hope one day i will be able to help and contribute.

I was looking for a jumbo of Garada K7, and I found this review here. I know this is a very old thread, but if anyone is still active and sees this, maybe you can help me.

I really like the Fewture Garada K7. There is more than one I think so I am referring to the GB-02A that is found here on this one owner's site . . .

http://www.toybotstudios.com/2008/11/fewtures-giant-size-garada-k7.html

I wanted to read a review of it from someone on THIS site because your opinions are SO informed. I don't see a review, so maybe there isn't one. Do any of you own this?

I just think it is so much more impressive looking than this Unifive one, but then, there's nothing vintage or even legacy about it. Still, I might get one. It's just so amazing. Any thoughts? and thanks in advance!!

MechaPumpkin's picture
Posted by MechaPumpkin on 23 February, 2013 - 09:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net