CollectionDX Network

Robotman Dean

Comments

16 comments posted
Cool. I recent aquired this

Cool. I recent aquired this toy in Hong Kong and was gonna review it on another site but wanted to wait till I could get Super Arthur to pilot it and show off its features (Arthur pilots it in the animation though Izamm piloted it once allowing it to use a big ass energy sword).

Oh yeh one thing is that I think the 'ear' pieces for his head can be used as swords? Not sure since I dont have any of the micromen from that line. Only the more recent stuff.

Dean's main body module can combine with Endeavor's limbs to make Super Robotman. A cool sequence in the show but not really that great toy wise.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 21 November, 2009 - 20:18
This line was one of my

This line was one of my all-time favorites. Nice to see someone showing the Magne's some love. I actually wanted the regular Dean and Endeavor but ended up with the Japan TRU exclusive black edition (contained both bots in dark colors in one box). Still cool, but not as bright and "heroic" looking.

The three Robot Men (Ace, Baron, Cross), Hurricane Bird, and the transforming Playstation base are a killer combination. Just a ridiculous amount of play value between them.

Oddly enough, there seems to be a reissue of this line. Quite a few of the pieces are showing up at the major retailers this month. Not sure what that's all about, but anyone interested should take a look.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 22 November, 2009 - 06:57
Maybe thats why I was able

Maybe thats why I was able to find Dean for so cheap. But I didnt see any smaller micromen...

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 22 November, 2009 - 09:01
Sonokong churned out tons of

Sonokong churned out tons of magne stuff, so it's been available for awhile, at least in the secondary market. BBTS just found some dead stock of some pieces. I'm surprised that you were able to find Dean so easily. Endeavor is all over the place, but Sonokong never made dean.It took me years to find this one.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 22 November, 2009 - 12:08
Yeh I saw him in quite a few

Yeh I saw him in quite a few stores. A new figure for sure. But I want to get one of the microman from this line to pilot it but they seem pretty hard to find on ebay. Only the set of five metallic figures.

I was always under the impression that Sonokong did release Dean since it says so on microforever. Maybe it was only in the older waves.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 22 November, 2009 - 16:42
Ah, so it's just warehouse

Ah, so it's just warehouse finds. Okay, that makes sense. :-)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 22 November, 2009 - 21:42
Transforming Playstation?

Transforming Playstation? You mean like the video game console?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 22 November, 2009 - 10:00
Yup. Transforms into a

Yup. Transforms into a ship/base for the micromen. ts called the Microstation I think.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 22 November, 2009 - 10:31
Exactly so. Great set. (I

Exactly so. Great set. (I tried to find a pic online, but they are all part of "for sale" listings.)

Oh, and this is the black TRU exclusive Dean/Endeavor:
http://microforever.com/superrobotman.htm

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 22 November, 2009 - 21:51
Acroyear-X is the toy that

Acroyear-X is the toy that got me back into the hobby, so I'll never understand way this stuff wasn't/isn't more popular. Seriously underrated.

Anyway, thanks for the review. Now I know I'm not alone.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 23 November, 2009 - 19:46
This was one of my favorite

This was one of my favorite lines too. I'm glad that BBTS was able to get a bunch of the Sonoking released ones.

Robotman Dean and possibly Baron are the last ones I want.

I checked out a little of the anime (Youtube had some eps raw). Reminded me of Beast Wars II if anyone's ever seen that.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 23 November, 2009 - 20:36
is there CGI animation in

is there CGI animation in the anime? Is the show any good?

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 23 November, 2009 - 21:00
No CG. All cell animation.

No CG. All cell animation. Its ok. Basically Monster of Week or Trap of the Week type thing. Robotman Dean sdoesnt appear until the second half of the series. It reminds me of Braves anime actually.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 24 November, 2009 - 06:05
The only CG I recall was the

The only CG I recall was the OP logo. But yeah, paint and cel animation (made just before the big switch to 2D digital animation).

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 24 November, 2009 - 08:31
I love reading your

I love reading your articulate and intelligent reviews, Enthusiast. Its refreshing to read an article about a toy and have to look up the definition of a word or two! Keep them coming!

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 24 November, 2009 - 18:47
Very kind! I do try to make

Very kind! I do try to make them compelling for everyone.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 24 November, 2009 - 20:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net