CollectionDX Network

Giga Phoenix Beast Air Combination

Comments

9 comments posted
Really-? You're gonna shoot

Really-? You're gonna shoot this one down, huh, Josh? I thought it was fantastic!

Oh, one thing- you said that there's die-cast in Giga Wings 4 and 5? Is that right?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 September, 2008 - 19:20
Nah, it looks a bit plain,

Nah, it looks a bit plain, especially coming from a Super Sentai Series. I guess they look better when they have rainbow color scheme, as usual. This could be a nice robot, but definitely not a Megazord.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 25 September, 2008 - 18:16
Giga Phoenix

I'm normally not a fan of Super Sentai robot designs, but I really like the look of this.

Maybe that's it's flaw: it's a good looking robot, but not a good looking sentai robot.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 25 September, 2008 - 18:35
Eva...

CMIIW isn't Eva review this things before, or is it the US version?

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 25 September, 2008 - 18:36
Umm, no, Eva reviewed the US

Umm, no, Eva reviewed the US version, so now Josh brings us the JP version...

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 25 September, 2008 - 18:44
Too plain...

The robot's too plain for my tastes...

I believe that Ginga Phoenix and Giga Rhinos were lame additions to the Gingaman show itself...wait, the show itself was pretty boring to begin with.

--------------------------------
"I'm no ordinary ring."

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 25 September, 2008 - 19:45
Agreed. I haven't seen

Agreed. I haven't seen the series myself, but the biggest disappointment for me was that none of the Gingabeasts could swap/merge with each other after forming their primary combos. Now, granted, some of the earlier series had no super-combos, but I still like them! The difference here is that none of the "Ginagaman" mecha look all that good.

But, as I said in my review for the Deluxe Stratoforce Megazord, GingaPhoenix was the exception in many ways, and I really liked it without being turned off by its off-the-beaten-path approach.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 September, 2008 - 15:02
The only thing I liked...

...about the toyline is that Gingaioh can upgrade itself into Super Armor Shine Gingaioh, provided if I can still find the Super Armor set for the toy...

--------------------------------
"I'm no ordinary ring."

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 30 September, 2008 - 20:19
Very subdued for a 'Zord,

Very subdued for a 'Zord, which is a nice departure... but the only thing I like about this design is the Chestplate. Otherwise, I think it looks like Babe the Blue Ox mated with a telescope.

- I Like Big Bots. -
www.plasticmissile.wordpress.com

plasticmissile's picture
Posted by plasticmissile on 26 September, 2008 - 13:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net