CollectionDX Network

Goldymarg DX (Goldion Hammer)

Comments

20 comments posted
I like it as a stand-alone.

I like it as a stand-alone. But, if it had replaced the entire arm rather than just the lower half I might have been a bit more impressed, since it looks way too heavy to even lift itself much less a giant hammer.

Seems to me there were two robots that could combine down the center, each made of two fire trucks, from GaoGaiGar. Are you going to review those, Shogundan?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 November, 2009 - 01:34
Hi Eva, I am going to

Hi Eva,
I am going to review them, actually their is 4 robots, dumptruck (RaiRyu) and cement truck (FuuRyu) combine to make the yellow and green robot (GekiRyuJin) and the fire truck (EnRyu) and crane truck (HyoRyu) make the red and blue robot (ChoRyuJin)

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 10 November, 2009 - 02:10
Cross combinations

And I guess you'll look at the ZA POWAA-fuelled cross combinations (was it Rai and Hyo/Fu and En)?
---
Humanity calls out to me, Kamen Rider Stronger, etc.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 November, 2009 - 03:32
Great review, Dan! I love

Great review, Dan! I love this toy. The show kicked much ass, too!

Also, with the Marg Hand on, the joints are plenty strong enough to hold his arm up...and the figure is designed well enough so that he won't topple over from the weight of it. Now, WITH the Marg Hand holding the Goldion Hammer, the end of the hammer's handle should be placed on the ground (or the top of his foot) to keep him from tipping forward.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 November, 2009 - 13:02
Ooooo

Yes yes yes! Finally! I've loved all the exposure to the Brave stuff you've done so far, but this is where it's at for me. Unfortunately I wasn't introduced to anything brave related until very recently, (two years ago, I think?) and I'm so glad that you're going to do GaoGaiGar stuff now! It's the only Brave Series I've ever watched, and it's my favorite super robot series of all time! Looking forward to the Ryu combiners and hope that you bother to do the cross combinations. Also, will their be any reviews of the stuff that came out of the GaoGaiGar Final OVA?

Mechaninja's picture
Posted by Mechaninja on 10 November, 2009 - 10:39
Man...am I the only one who

Man...am I the only one who found GGG Final pretty terrible? It's like they took the fun kids' show and threw in a unnecessarily convoluted plot and TONS of embarrassing fanservice (read: "cartoon boobs")...just to introduce a more animal-ish GGG design. Pssht.

Oh, and original GGG > GFG.

Dan, I, too, can't wait for your Choryujin/Gekiryujin reviews (even though I already have the toys!).

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 November, 2009 - 13:07
You most certainly are not.

You most certainly are not. I did, however, think there were a lot of kick-ass fight scenes in it.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 10 November, 2009 - 13:29
VERY true...the animation

VERY true...the animation quality and high-energy fight scenes were some of the best in the series. Not to derail the thread, but did anyone catch the Betterman crossover? I assume that was a separate cartoon series...maybe an OVA..?

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 November, 2009 - 15:39
Project Z

GaoGaiGar Project Z, as it was going to be called, a cross-over between GGG and Betterman, was sadly cancelled due to low demand, after the TV version of Final (Grand Glorious Gathering) underperformed, and Sunrise had way better things to do with its' time than walk through such a demographic and licensing minefield (as Bandai and Takara were bigger competitors than ever due to the highly successful Kamen Rider and Machine Robo comebacks).

So, pretty much, there wasn't any Project Z... and FINAL kinda gave us a downer ending, so no POWAAAH OF COURAGE for us in the end. Sad, sad days.
---
Humanity calls out to me, Kamen Rider Stronger, etc.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 November, 2009 - 16:30
Wow...thanks for the

Wow...thanks for the detailed info, Rankarana! Okay, I'm actually kinda glad it was canned. I liked how the original tv show ended, and I'm fine with calling it a day at that point. The GGG fused with Betterman looked like crap, too.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 November, 2009 - 17:32
The Plot was kinda awkward...

More an excuse to throw everyone together again than anything else....but who cares! You watch that purely for the great fights! And....*sigh*...am I the only one with the guilty pleasure of actually enjoying GFG's design? I mean, orginal GGG is certainly better, but I liked how it looked. Oh and, for the record, it's still: Genesic GGG > Original GGG > GFG.

Mechaninja's picture
Posted by Mechaninja on 12 November, 2009 - 12:33
Y'know, I gotta admit: I

Y'know, I gotta admit: I actually dig the basic design of GFG, too. The Phantom Gao is kinda hot...and GaoFar is pretty cool. My main problem is the color scheme. The light blue and grey just TOTALLY clashes with the rest of the robot. If the Phantom Gao/GaoFar were in more traditional Galeon colors, it would've been SO much cooler!!

But honestly, I didn't like the Genesic GGG very much. I just thought it was TOO animal-y. :P

I like the subtle combo of the high-tech vehicles with Galeon in GGG better. The combined GGGG was a little too organic for my tastes.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 17 November, 2009 - 18:05
As far as I know Genesic

As far as I know Genesic Gaogaigar is the first and only brave to consist entirely of animals. Most animal braves are pared up with vehicular partners or has a vehicle mode themselves. I feel that the theme of nature and tech kinda gets lost in Genesic Gaogaigar.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 18 November, 2009 - 17:38
I agree totally...GGGG just

I agree totally...GGGG just seems too beastly!

Honestly, I'd even prefer GFG *if* PhantomGao were colored like Galeon...even though there's really NO animal theme in that design...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 20 November, 2009 - 12:48
It's interesting that the

It's interesting that the toys uses the same kind of air projectile system that some G2 toys incorporated. Was the original made by Takara?

"Dinobots, destroy Devestator!"-Optimus Prime TFTM

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 10 November, 2009 - 14:23
Yup, the original is made by

Yup, the original is made by Takara, Sonokong has the license and produces the toys for Takar in Korea. The quality is on par with the Takara original and in some case it is better. For example, my Takara King Exkizers plastic quality feels really cheap when compared with the Sonokong re-issue.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 10 November, 2009 - 14:28
Sonokong didnt release King

Sonokong didnt release King Exkaiser...

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 15 November, 2009 - 05:21
I apologize, I didn't make

I apologize, I didn't make myself clear enough, I should have said that my Takara King Exkaisers plastic feels cheap compared to my other Sonokong Brave re-issues. I hope this clears up any further misunderstanding

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 15 November, 2009 - 20:24
Ah ok. Gotcha ;) I do feel

Ah ok. Gotcha ;) I do feel that the plastics used in Dagarn feel especially flimsy compared to other Brave series toys. Not sure why...

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 16 November, 2009 - 18:03
Quiver in fear of my hammer!

This is certanly a break from tradition from other Brave toys. Instead of two robots combining to include upgraded arms, legs, chest plates and heads. Goldymarg just forms an arm. But I guess the advantage of that is that it could combine with GaoFighGar and other similar robots in the GaoGaiGar line, while the other robots could only combine with the correct robot. A superb review overall.

DurelKing31584's picture
Posted by DurelKing31584 on 12 October, 2011 - 15:41
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net