CollectionDX Network

Optimus Primal vs. Megatron

Comments

50 comments posted
I think you missed a pretty

I think you missed a pretty important point here, which shines a whole new light on these two figures (though doesn't improve what they are as stand-alone toys).

While these are indeed Primal and Megs, it should be made clear that these are actually the earlier concepts for the characters. Eventually Hasbro made the choices to go with the now-known gorilla and t-rex, but even those have hints of these earlier versions.
Optimus Primal retained the ability to fly, the scimitars, and the Mega-class toy had the bat-inspired mutant mask (which was abandoned after the first season of toys and was never featured in the series) which was downgraded to just a simple battle mouth shield.
Megatron was still a lizard (well, a much larger and older one), his robo head didn't change much (purple mouth, red eyes), and his tail still became a weapon.

So, yes, while THIS two-pack has some awful toys IMO, they are nonetheless a part of the history of Beast Wars.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 August, 2011 - 12:34
"they are nonetheless a part of the history of Beast Wars."

Isn't EVERY Beast Wars toy part of the history of Beast Wars?

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 2 August, 2011 - 16:14
Yes, they are. But I'm

Yes, they are. But I'm saying that regardless of how bad some of them may be (I never wanted a lot of them either for various reasons), the toyline as a whole and the ideas it introduced were crucial in the evolution of TF in later lines. (Ex: Spark Crystals were used again in "TF Armada" years later.)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 18:54
I do agree that these two

I do agree that these two toys are at the bottom of the barrel when it comes to transformers but placing the weight of an entire toyline on these two was a poor choice. Beast Wars has had its fair share of good toys as well such as tigerhawk and transmetal 2 megatron both of which have very solid robot and beast modes. I am not defending the entirety of the Beast Wars toy line because there are the ones like the two pack that was released BEFORE the series even aired and the later ones like retrax who had no reason to be made other than making a few quick bucks for hasbro. But I just don't understand where all the hate for this toy line occurs. Is it the bad toys that put that little bit of disgust in you mouth that you can't look at another one without hate ever again? Or is it when you see any review of a Beast Wars toy it is usally about another bad figure that you decide that all of them are terrible? I may never know but personally I like the toy line (minus most of the fuzors line) because it brought somthing to the table that many transformers fans today overlook articulation.

CRZninjaman's picture
Posted by CRZninjaman on 2 August, 2011 - 12:42
TRUKK NOT MUNKY TRUKK NOT

Edited by ADMIN: Mind you're language.

smarmypunk's picture
Posted by smarmypunk on 2 August, 2011 - 13:02
This is the best possible way

This is the best possible way to kick off(?) Beast War reviews. Any further arguments for the merits of the line are obviously void.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 2 August, 2011 - 14:44
Dumbest Toyline EVER!

That is all...thank you.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 2 August, 2011 - 15:08
Well.....

I think Animorphs is the dumbest toyline ever, but I don't think anyone wants to go there.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 2 August, 2011 - 16:48
But to be fair...

These two figures are nearly on par with Animorphs, except they don't turn into crappy humans.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 2 August, 2011 - 19:19
Ugh, I forgot about those.

Ugh, I forgot about those. Thanks for reminding me! /sarcasm

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 August, 2011 - 19:38
REALLY?

"I know you think you own some sweet Beast Wars toys, but because they are from the same line as these two any toy from Beast Wars is automatically terrible by association. Action Masters were better and the Unicorn Trilogy toys were better."

Wow REALLY? I mean seriously?

This comment alone makes this review sound like it was written by one of them "TRUKK NOT MUNKY" guys.

While these figures weren't the best transformers there's still no reason to say the entire line is terrible because of such, that's like saying the entire Soul of Chogokin line is terrible, and quality control ridden because GX-01 had some QC issues.

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 2 August, 2011 - 15:09
Unbelievably Biased and Nonsensical Review

I'm not sure if you claiming to judge the whole line by the two debut figures is supposed to be some kind of joke or not, but I can't help but feel that it is. You deliberately took two of the worst figures in the line and judged the entire toy line by just those two figures. While the first wave of toys in this line may not have been the greatest in terms of "show-accuracy" they were still imo leaps and bounds better than the Geeewon bricks.

The Beast Wars line introduced high articulation into transformers, and it revitalized an otherwise stale product and saved the entire franchise yet we still get people like you who are too blinded by nostalgia to give a fair review of an entire toy line.

How about you review some of the Transmetal figures? You know the excellent figures that debuted with season 2 of the show.... Transmetal Optimus Primals (both), cheetor, Rattrap, Megatron (although he suffers from GPS, on a Design level he is phenomenal), Tarantualas, Rampage, Depthcharge, Tigerhawk etc. etc. etc. Even the figures that never appeared in the show are phenomenal.

The line as a whole is better than even more modern lines like the ones directly proceeded it (Beast Machines, RID, Unicron Trilogy).

Syndrome's picture
Posted by Syndrome on 2 August, 2011 - 16:33
Articulation

Actually, Generation 2 introduced high articulation into Transformers. The six Cyberjets, the Laser Rods (including Laser Optimus Prime), and the Combat Heroes all pre-dated Beast Wars and were all ball jointed as much of Beast Wars would be and with much more convincing alternate modes. That said, I dig some of the Beast Wars toys. I love Magmatron, the dinosaur orgy.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 2 August, 2011 - 17:34
True Enough

That is true, but what I should have said was that it was the first transformers toy line to have an entire line consisting of fully articulated figures. Also it is easy as sin to make something mechanical (a robot) turn into something else mechanical (a car, a plane etc.) while still looking convincing, whereas making something mechanical turn into something organic while looking entirely convincing isn't exactly the easiest thing to do.

Syndrome's picture
Posted by Syndrome on 3 August, 2011 - 06:47
Is VF5SS the Jonathan Swift of CDX?

Review seems satirically based. I really don't get the running gag on CDX that Beast Wars is so horrible...I must be out of a loop or something...I have seen much worse and much better...seems a non-point of rancor to me....Oh well the memos don't usually reach me...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 2 August, 2011 - 18:21
Not sure if this a joke review.

I enjoyed the Beast-Wars line. It is brought me back to collecting toys again. For the most part the toys were very well designed. As for the show, the last season had some of the best story telling ever. I really got into the love story Sliverhawk and Black Arach. The Transmutate episode was very dark, beyond what would have been written for children. Just my 2.5 cents.

Robonurse's picture
Posted by Robonurse on 2 August, 2011 - 18:44
nay sayers

Don't listen to those guys, VF. Beast Wars is an abomination. I'm with you on the whole "bad toy line" thing. TRUK NOT MUNKY FTW.

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 2 August, 2011 - 19:01
I'm guessing the reviewer

I'm guessing the reviewer just wanted to get a rise out of us. Not counting these two, Optimus Primal - T-rex Megatron, Lio Convoy - Galvatron, Big Convoy - Magmatron, TM Prime - TM Megatron, Primal Prime - TM2 Megatron are all pretty solid entries and really represent the best of the series. If someone can honestly say they don't like a single one of those figures, it probably doesn't have anything to do with the TOYS themselves. Are you reviewing toys here, or the show which they came from (which I also didn't like)? I mean purple and pink Mecha-dragon, drill tank, grimacing robot. How can you not like that at least?

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 2 August, 2011 - 19:15
2/10 for obvious troll

I hate to waste my first comment as a member of the site on something like this.

Yes, the early spring-activated Beast Wars toys were terrible. That's why Hasbro (then Kenner) dropped them almost immediately. Writing a review that judges the entire three-year span of Beast Wars just based on these two figures is so obviously an attempt to troll readers that it barely even warrants a response.

Seriously, VF5SS, what was the point of writing this? Why take up space on the site for it? Why spend the time taking photos and writing and coding the review just to get a rise out of your readers? The people dumb enough to fall for it will just hold it against you later, and the people who see it for what it is won't care. It's stupid, it's not funny, and it's unprofessional.

Fringe Benefits's picture
Posted by Fringe Benefits on 2 August, 2011 - 20:44
Can't help but agree with both of you.

I agree with both of you.

I agree with VF5SS for once on one point. This line of toys sucks. People like it because they grew up with it, not because it's good. Just like I liked "The Black Hole" or "Buck Rogers" when I was a kid, and how I hold them in high regard as an adult. They sucked then, they suck now, but my memory puts a lovely purple haze of awesome around them, which keeps them great in my mind. Actually writing a serious review of Beast Wars would be a complete waste of time and effort, best put towards other things like staring off into space, or counting from one to a thousand.

But Mr. Fringe Benefits makes a good point, that this post is totally antagonistic and troll-baiting. It bears repeating:
Seriously, VF5SS, what was the point of writing this? Why take up space on the site for it? Why spend the time taking photos and writing and coding the review just to get a rise out of your readers? The people dumb enough to fall for it will just hold it against you later, and the people who see it for what it is won't care. It's stupid, it's not funny, and it's unprofessional.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 3 August, 2011 - 16:31
I can only go as far

I can only go as far as saying I agree with [something] you said, Big R.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 17:44
[Yakov Smirnoff style joke

[Yakov Smirnoff style joke goes here]

Edit: Aww, it doesn't work as well with the edited comment.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 3 August, 2011 - 18:03
I'm sorry, I completely

I'm sorry, I completely overlooked something you said.

I welcome you in becoming a member of CollectionDX! ^_^

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 18:01
You're very welcome, I'm glad

You're very welcome, I'm glad to be here! I've been a site reader for a very long time, and I figured it was finally time to stop lurking and start posting.

I plan on putting up more photos of my sizeable collections as soon as I get some better equipment to do so.

Fringe Benefits's picture
Posted by Fringe Benefits on 3 August, 2011 - 18:43
Well, good for you! So, what

Well, good for you!

So, what do you follow? What do you collect? What do you watch? You have a whole user page all to yourself to explain all these things, BTW. (Check out my page as an example of this.)

I suppose I'm obligated in some fashion to ask what draws you to CDX?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 18:49
I was drawn to Collection DX

I was drawn to Collection DX because I love toys, especially anything Japanese that transforms or combines... in fact, I love them far more than is healthy for my sanity, shelf space, or wallet! I've been collecting since I was 5 years old, and since I almost never sell or get rid of my stuff, I've got a LOT to show off. That said, you guys pretty much have one of my dream jobs here: getting paid to obsess over the toys you love. Would that I could, I would do the same in a heartbeat.

I've actually been following your stuff for around five or six years now, believe it or not! I've read almost everything you've written about the DX Sentai and Power Rangers mecha, and you've inspired me to change my mind on buying more than one of them! I actually never would have given the Lightspeed Rescue or Time Force lines a second thought had you not written such glowing reviews!

I do have to make a point of contention about your opinions on Shinkenger's DX Origami, though. Maybe it's bias from my rabid love of the series, but I felt you weren't giving the line a fair shot... and you did yourself a disservice by not seeing the Samurai Haoh firsthand, it's awe-inspiring... but I forgive you. XP

Aside from Power Rangers and Sentai, I also have a huge collection of Transformers, including over 50 from Beast Wars and almost the entire line from Animated. Aside from the DX Kyoryu Samurai Haoh, the crown jewel of my collection is my shelf full of 16 different Optimuses (Optimii?) ranging from his Generation 2 incarnation up to the Masterpiece 20th Anniversary Optimus. I've also got about two dozen Zoids from 2001-2004, two Gundams (including a Master Grade God Gundam), six models of the various Starships Enterprise, some Figmas and Revoltechs, and other various stuff that catches my fancy.

As I said, I'm waiting to upload more pictures of my collections here until I can take them with some better equipment, but until then you can check out what I have in my "Mechollection" here: http://tasakeru828.deviantart.com/gallery/10690876

Thanks very much for your interest, and for the huge help you've been to a discerning collector over the years! (And I apologize profusely for leaving such a long reply!)

Fringe Benefits's picture
Posted by Fringe Benefits on 3 August, 2011 - 19:25
Umm... we don't get paid to

Umm... we don't get paid to do this. -_-;

The site is more-or-less self-sustaining as far as revenue that we get from advertisers. But as far as I am aware, none of the staff gets a monthly check or commission for their work; it's all volunteer. It would be nice to get paid to do this(!), but we don't make enough money to do that.
(So far as I am aware, Josh is the only one of us who gets any income from CDX, because, well, it IS his job!)

One small compensation is we get discounts if we review a toy from one of the advertisers (not always), so that helps a little.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 19:45
"Ooh, I like him! Yess.."

"Ooh, I like him! Yes..."

--Megatron's first impression of Inferno

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 19:51
Quoting Beast Wars is always

Quoting Beast Wars is always a sure way to get into my good books. XD

Funny, I could have sworn I read somewhere that the senior reviewers get paid... but oh well. The sentiment still stands, and I'd gladly do stuff like this for free if I had the time, money, and hardware for it.

Fringe Benefits's picture
Posted by Fringe Benefits on 3 August, 2011 - 20:06
Well, if you have an opinion

Well, if you have an opinion about the Shinkenger toys I reviewed, leave your comments in their individual reviews, and I just might respond back... =)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 22:49
FIRRIB!!!

Did I do it right?

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 3 August, 2011 - 00:12
LoL You got it right. XD

LoL

You got it right. XD

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 01:19
I have the frilled lizard one

I have the frilled lizard one which was a remold of Alligator Megatron and I STILL like the toy.

So there. :P

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 3 August, 2011 - 09:31
Your avatar pleases me. It's

Your avatar pleases me. It's always great to see another Madoka Magica fan!

Fringe Benefits's picture
Posted by Fringe Benefits on 3 August, 2011 - 19:10
Thanks! I hope the next

Thanks!

I hope the next classics/universe/whatever they what to call it now line puts some more BW characters besides Cheetor and Dinobot. I just want to see more insect TFs.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 4 August, 2011 - 07:39
Ooh- I'd LOVE to see remakes

Ooh- I'd LOVE to see remakes of Inferno (a fanatically-loyal psycho with heavy weapons = WIN), Ravage, and Airazor.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 August, 2011 - 12:33
Agreed, but...

They need someone else to design them. Dinobot was sort of decent, but Cheetor... well, I've been collecting TFs pretty much since birth and Universe Cheetor is the first toy I've ever considered strapping to a firecracker, Sid-style. I've considered using it as practice material for my router. The CHUG designers do a great job on most of them, but they've got no business doing animals.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 5 August, 2011 - 09:42
i'm still on the fence about

i'm still on the fence about universe dinobot, but cheetor went in the trash after a few months. ugh, wat a crappy toy. not even worthy of being sold to someone else.
universe hot shot also went the way of the dumpster. only perfectly functional TF's i've even thrown away.

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 6 August, 2011 - 14:40
I really liked Dinobot as a

I really liked Dinobot as a character, but all his transformable toys have been crap (even the Transmetal-II I have, which was too damn small).

The only Cheetor I ever wanted-or-have is the first Transmetal. Face was a little freaky, but the toy overall wasn't bad. I briefly considered TM Rhinox but... ehh.

I wish Scorponok's toy hadn't been crap, because I might have gotten him. Same with Terrorsaur and Waspinator. Waspinator is one of my favorite characters (mostly for the comic relief), but the toy robot modes always had proportion problems that turned me way off.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 6 August, 2011 - 16:07
I love these guys! Two of my

I love these guys! Two of my favorite old toys. These two are actually two of my first Beast Wars toys, and the figures that got me actually IN to Transformers. I was never very big on them 'cause they didn't do much beyond transform, so the robot modes were often boring and didn't move much. These blew me away back then! All moveable 'n such. I still really like Megatron as the aligator. Optimus could have used some work, but I still liked 'em. Either way, they're a pair of great figures!

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 3 August, 2011 - 18:55
I'll betcha that if these had

I'll betcha that if these had been rip-off bootlegs, [most of] the CDX staff would have been all over them in a heartbeat...

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 August, 2011 - 20:55
I guess it's all a matter of

I guess it's all a matter of what you grew up with, in some sense. I enjoyed Beast Wars plenty as a kid, among other toylines. I'm not sure I'd go back and collect many of the figures from this line, as much as I enjoyed the show, but I'm also not sure they're deserving of some of the scathing remarks peppered throughout this review. There are far worse figures to be had, both today and from the era these were made.

It feels like this is a rather childish way of brushing off the members of the CDX community who voted in favor of the recent Beast Wars poll (the results of which appeared rather surprising to some of the senior admins here). Now you've written this review, denounced the toyline, and are happy to leave it at that. I would have much rather seen someone else tackle these figures, or others in the line and approach them without having already decided that Beast Wars is some sort of atrocity of mankind and should not sully the sacred pages of CDX.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 5 August, 2011 - 18:39
The pages of CDX have already

The pages of CDX have already been sullied, we've reviewed Bearbrick.....

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 August, 2011 - 18:50
Alright here's my take on all

Alright here's my take on all of this.

The review above was VF5SS's half troll/half attempt at humor. Originally I did in fact ban BW toys, but I put up the poll to see how serious everyone took it. Apparently Beast Wars fans are very passionate about them and believe me, I heard you loud and clear.

I do want to make it clear though that I still don't think that Beast Wars toys as a rule, are very good. Perhaps someone will change my mind, but I have had a few - from the original run to Transmetals 2. I thought they were very kiddie in nature, and were not at all for me. While the later ones did see some cool advances with materials and design, nothing can get me over the fact that this is a gorilla that turns into a robot.

I just don't get it. As I am sure not many of you get my obsession with bootlegs. To each their own.

However, the passion of the responses make me feel that any beast wars reviews will not be objective, and be too clouded with nostalgia. I think VF5SS's review was an extreme reaction to that idea, but maybe did not come across as so. Put yourself in my shoes - people want to review toys of a show that has super fanatical fans, but you feel they may be too intense in their love for the show to objectively look at the quality of the toy. Perhaps a ban was too harsh, but the reactions it solicited confirmed my fears.

No, this is not how we normally do things, so please forgive us as we try to work this out. It is new territory for us. We will have beast wars reviews here and there, but I just want people to have a level head about things.

Apologies for any hurt feelings or discomfort this whole ordeal may have caused anyone. It was not my intention. Hopefully we can move on from this and get back to reviewing cool toys.

Josh

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 5 August, 2011 - 19:13
Re: Alright here's my take on all

For the benefit of everyone reading this, I've had an extensive private conversation with Josh regarding BWTF overall, the reactions of CDXers to the earlier poll, and VF5SS's review above. And he has assured me privately- as well as everyone publicly- that pretty much the only CDX staff with any interest in BWTF is myself.
As such, I will be making reviews of the few toys I have. However, at this time I am engaged in other priority reviews, so it will be a few more months before I can get to any BWTF reviews. (I was planning another series of retro-reviews for a Super Sentai/Power Rangers mecha line, but the urgency of this BWTF situation on CDX has forced me to change my mind.)
I also want it made clear that there is no friction between me and Josh on this matter, and that all remains balanced between us! ^_^

The main reason I'm posting this, though, is to clarify my own position a bit on BWTF to all of you [who are interested in hearing it]. While I am a strong advocate for the TV series (of which I own all three DVD boxed sets BTW), I do not want to be accused of being the BWTF-equivalent of a GeeWunner (if there is a name for such a thing). However, I am not as strong an advocate for the three seasons of toys.

The ONLY figure I have ever wanted (and still do!) from Season One was Mega-class Inferno. I had a chance to play with Deluxe-class Airazor once (the only other toy I had considered getting), and I wasn't impressed, being as she was little different from Primal and Megs in the review above.
Seasons Two and Three were more attractive to me, and in recent years I've been able to expand my collection by a few leaps for surprisingly little effort on my part. I started with Mega-class Rampage and Depth Charge, and then within a few short years added Transmetal Megs, OP, Cheetor, Rattrap, Tarantulus, and Fuzor Silverbolt. Leader-class Optimal Optimus was one of my earlier ones, as was my only other Transmetal-2, Dinobot.
As you may have noticed, these are all toys that appeared on-screen, with the sole exception of Transmetal Airazor (whom I got before Season Two began in '98, not knowing she wouldn't look that way in the show). There are a few more I would like to get from S2 and S3- some that appeared in the show, and some that didn't- and then I will be done.

The vast majority of BWTF toys, however, have little-or-no appeal to me. They are a mixture of many different types of TFs that I do not like (shell-formers, terrible undercarriage, etc.).


I told Josh that I would be bold-faced lying if I said that I was any more immune to using nostalgia to ignore crap than anyone else!
I was going to save this for one of my next Vlogs on ---> my own YouTube channel <---, but I suppose a quick summary of the TF shows I have watched would help reenforce my position a little. (This isn't saying much, though, as I've only seen three of them with my own eyes.)

While I do put certainly BWTF on a pedestal, I found "Animated" to be cut from a superior cloth as well, and it is possibly my top-favorite TF series thus far.
I saw bits of "Beast Machines" when it was first on, but there were so many changes from what I had loved from BWTF that I didn't go on with it and have no plans to anytime soon.
Bayformers 1, 2, and 3 have been hit-and-miss (I STILL need to see DotM in the theater, dammit!), but I am not willing to put them up against the TV series for various reasons.
On a fluke in April 2011, I started watching "TF Galaxy Force", but had to halt at Episode 39 for a bit. As the first Japanese-made TF series I've seen, I must admit to it being more than I expected, and I have mixed feelings about it. (I was not willing to watch "TF Cybertron" because I've heard about bad dubbing and heavy editing.)
I tried watching the first four episodes of G1, but I just couldn't stomach it, being of corny acting and unspectacular 80s animation. (Do NOT criticize me on that last point, as I remember very little of any other 80s cartoon made in the US to compare G1 to, so I do not know what the "standard" of that time is.) Because I have little current interest in G1, I will probably not watch "TF:TM" either.
Regretfully, I have not been keeping up with the current "TF:Prime", though the debut miniseries was good in a lot of ways and I would definitely like to continue watching it!

Beyond what I have listed above, there aren't any other TF series I am interested in (including "BW Neo" and "BW Second"). I could go on quite a bit on why I liked certain toy lines and no, but that would be getting off-topic for the purposes of this posting.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 August, 2011 - 23:17
Will Smith approves of Beast

Will Smith approves of Beast Wars.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-g6j9YxslB0

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 6 August, 2011 - 08:18
@ josh: thank you for

@ josh: thank you for clarifying this, because i honestly thought this was a serious attempt at getting rid of BW reviews.
i like beast wars a lot, and i have most of the toys, but i'd like to see someone else's mostly unbiased opinion on them

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 6 August, 2011 - 14:44
chiming in

I just wrote this on CDX Beta 0.5 but i'll add my 2 cents here as well:

Although I really don't collect most modern TF's, I have developed an appreciation for Beast Wars, Henkei, Universe, etc. The key in my opinion is not to look at them through the lens of a classic gokin fan, but to see them as action figures. Like Cheetor, Optimus Primal, or the snake (Corahda?) Sure, the kibble sucks but great action features, posing, durable etc... You can really play with these toys..something you cant do with older robot toys. So I guess what i'm saying is they're just different and thats not a bad thing.

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 7 August, 2011 - 00:33
C'mon now. We are a community

C'mon now. We are a community of toy collectors, we stick together! Even if our tastes in certain series diverge (or might even go so far as outright hating certain lines!), nobody should be getting upset or defensive. At the end of the day we all love "robots" - whatever that mean might mean for an individual. Any love or any hate directed at a toyline isn't right or wrong - it's just opinion! The best part about CDX is seeing people being passionate about cool robot toys, whether its like or disliking X Y or Z.

That alone means we have more in common than we have different. Yay CDX :)

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 7 August, 2011 - 22:20
FYI - closing thread soon.

I think we've said pretty much all that needs to be said about BW and bias on these two threads. You guys can start a thread on the forum if you like, but I think I am going to close comments on these before things get out of hand.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 8 August, 2011 - 18:50
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net