CollectionDX Network

Dreadwing and Smokescreen

Comments

21 comments posted
Nice review Andrew

Keep 'em coming. :)

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 13 January, 2009 - 11:35
wow.

this is great. a transformer review that isnt of the newest most recent release. Hats off to you sir..

I unfortunatly dont own this version, i have the Dreadwing and Smokejumper set. I like the more... "realistic"? colours that go with the set. but i also love anything generation 2. GEN2 bruticus anyone.. awesome.. these two unfortunatly, just aint in the budget at the moment.

ever notice how smokescreen's face freakishly resembles prime?

they will all taste oblivion!... which tastes just like redbull...
which is disgusting...

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 13 January, 2009 - 12:55
This was one set I always

This was one set I always kinda wanted but never got. the RID version looks the best to me, followed by this one.

BTW Did you know that the BW II version was based on an unreleased version that was to released at the end of G2 as Megatron and Starscream? Rare packaged examples exist oddly (like how there were package examples for the unreleased Stunticons and Protectobots).

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 13 January, 2009 - 14:29
Nice review, I admit :) I'm

Nice review, I admit :) I'm a G2 Lover myself, unfortunately, my Dreadwing and Smokescreen are a bit busted and can't find any spare parts and ammo for them.

If you think these were awsome, better make a review of a Laser Rod, before I do it :P

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 13 January, 2009 - 15:14
Cool. I pretty much hate

Cool. I pretty much hate Transformers, but I like the vehicle mode of this and it's massive amount of weaponry. Makes me think of MASK or something like that. Nice review!

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 January, 2009 - 15:26
How could you hate

How could you hate Transformers? I'm not asking you in an "internets flame war" way,I'm just genuinely curious.I'm not saying every TF is pure gold,but I don't see how someone who likes the kind of stuff covered by CDX wouldn't be at least somewhat fond of them.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 January, 2009 - 21:23
Most of them just look like

Most of them just look like crap to my eyes. And not in a charming or funky way.

Add a rabid fanbase to the mix and I just find the whole phenomenom annoying. I feel the same way about Macross, too. If lived in Japan, I'd probably hate Gundam.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 16 January, 2009 - 23:15
Not a big TF fan. But was

Not a big TF fan. But was the Smokescreen mold reworked into Energon Starscream?

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 13 January, 2009 - 19:16
I though he looked

I though he looked familiar... While I don't own either figure, it does look quite similar.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 13 January, 2009 - 21:56
The transformations are

The transformations are similar, but Energon Starscream is actually a bit larger.

Heavyarms
thatsjustprime.blogspot.com
addictedtoplastic.blogspot.com

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 14 January, 2009 - 11:28
Enerrgon Starscream

To answer your question. No, Energon Starscream wasn't refurbished from G2 Smokescream. He's purely an original mold design that was inspired from the G2 Decepticon Jet. I'm sure about it.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 15 January, 2009 - 16:26
Yup

You're right, this is an awesome set. And it would still be awesome by today's standards. If only they made that Megatron/Starscream combo... I know BB/Starscrem share the same deco but something official would have been nice. :)

megatroptimus's picture
Posted by megatroptimus on 20 January, 2009 - 01:25
Generation 2 background pl0x

Coming into Transformers just as G2 was ending, I only got a handful of the figures, and these were my first trademarked-Transformers. No comic books, no video games. I vaguely recall there being a cartoon, but only really remember that the bookends during the episodes featured a CGI Prime transforming and shooting.
Nowadays, I only know that G2 was an opportunity to bring back G1 toys in new coloring, and bring forward new designs like tank-Megatron and usher in the era of "safe" toy Transformers.

How is G2 connected to G1 story-wise other than through toy lines and certain characters, if at all? Is it a continuation? A retelling? Does it ignore/add factors from G1?
I'm writing a review connected to a G2 character, and need a little background info before I proceed. (Wikipedia isn't giving me the info I need, QQ.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 September, 2009 - 20:57
Eh

TV show was the Transformers show with crappy CG transitions and borders added. The G2 comic was a continuation of the original Marvel comic. The toys more or less coincide with the comic version.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 24 September, 2009 - 22:37
So... G1 and G2 are the

So... G1 and G2 are the same story? I thought there were differences?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 September, 2009 - 00:24
It depends on the media...

It depends on the media... G2 TV series is just a recut version of the first two seasons of the original 'G1' cartoon. The G2 comic books are alot different, and I've always thought, kinda stupid. The comics were very early 90's 'edgy' and 'extreme' with graffiti on the robots and extra missiles and guns just strapped on all over.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 25 September, 2009 - 08:52
So, then, when I do my

So, then, when I do my story & character summaries, what should I put down? The G1 story?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 September, 2009 - 12:45
G2

Again, the G2 comic story is a continuation of the G1 comic. It's post-Unicron, the main Decepticon army is defeated, the Autobots have dispersed and turned into a few ragtag guerilla warfare teams and they find there's a second generation of Decepticons that left Cybertron while Optimus and Megatron were offline on the Ark for 4 million years. These new Decepticons are a vast empire conquering countless worlds and "cyberforming" them -- turning them from organic planets to metal ones.

Optimus and Megatron are still there (Cobra from GI Joe built Megatron his tank body), Grimlock's around, Megatron resurrects Starscream and they kill Bludgeon and take over the original Decepticons, the new Decepticon empire guy is Jhiaxus. Those are pretty much the main characters.

You may want to read some summaries on the internet or something.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 25 September, 2009 - 14:00
Re: G2

Yes, I got the gist of the summaries that I have already read online. I just wanted to know if G2 took place in an alternate universe like all later series did or not, since it was mostly in comic book-form and they were recycling the footage from the G1 TV series.

Sorry. Perhaps it's a bad habit from being a Trekker- I'm of the opinion that if something doesn't appear on-screen, then it isn't canon. And since G2 was off-screen for the most part... you get the idea.

Thank you for all your help! You have cleared up a lot. =)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 September, 2009 - 15:03
G2

Oh, yeah, the Transformers comic and TV show are totally separate continuities. Sorry if I wasn't clearer on that!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 25 September, 2009 - 15:51
Re: G2

Yes- that is what I wanted to know! ^_^

Good, good. Now I can proceed. Now I know I can't simply copy/paste what I used before; I have to create something from scratch.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 September, 2009 - 17:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net