CollectionDX Network

Aliens Power Loader & Ripley

Comments

8 comments posted
I wanted that Power Loader so

I wanted that Power Loader so bad back then... and then I found out the legs didn't move, and I banished from my toy list(s) forevah.

(I'd never seen any of the movies until I was well into my 20s. So I was wanting this toy even though I knew it came from a movie that could easily scare me.)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 July, 2011 - 18:10
I gotta hand it to you, you

I gotta hand it to you, you come up with the coolest out-there stuff to review. You take forgotten stuff and make it desirable. I actually clicked on the ebay link at the bottom of the review and then thought to myself... "What am I doing?" Good stuff. Very entertaining

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 25 July, 2011 - 05:04
Thanks!

Thanks! For me, the "what the hell am I doing" usually comes sometime after "submit bid."

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 25 July, 2011 - 19:45
To me this is a great example

To me this is a great example of the stuff I dislike about a lot of toys made for kids. They destroyed the design from the movie. A great design done by some of the best designers in the world, like Syd Mead. Why a toy company, handed such an iconic amazing design would then take the liberty to rework the hands, the arms, and worst of all, meld the legs together is beyond me.

To me stuff like this screams, "They're stupid little kids and they won't know the difference and we save a nickel on plastic costs by giving it tank treads and kids like tanks, right?". Man, why couldn't they just give us the toy from the movie? Sure you have to beef it up so it won't break in half but come on. It's just laziness. The bare minimum to get something out there to sell. An absolute waste of an opportunity to really make something great.

Good review! It's good to see this stuff so that we don't repeat the mistakes of the past :) This kind of thing just gets me fired up LOL

P.S. At least the Kubrick toy gets all the important stuff right - http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290589616190&clk_rvr_id=250112030280#ht_786wt_1370

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 25 July, 2011 - 08:17
I have the Queen Hive playset...

I always wanted this toy so that they could do battle. Thanks for the review!

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 25 July, 2011 - 08:54
I always found it surprising

I always found it surprising that they made toys and cartoons from such R-Rated adult films such as Robocop, Rambo and Aliens!

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 25 July, 2011 - 14:25
Alien figures

The figures of the Aliens themselves were interesting designs...basically they went with the concept, sort of implied by the "Dog alien" from Alien 3, that the Aliens would reflect the DNA of the host bodies-so there were aliens based on Gorillas, bulls, rhinos, even insects.The marines though were just plain weird and not at all movie-accurate. Especially odd were the Apone and Drake figures since they clearly died early in the movie, and the Bishop figure seemed kind of like a Robocop reject.

I remember that at some point an animated series was considered to showcase the toys, ala the Rambo and Robocop cartoons mentioned above. However, like with the proposed Jurassic Park cartoon, it never made it past the planning stage.

ChrisIII's picture
Posted by ChrisIII on 30 July, 2011 - 11:16
I just wanna say I saw Alien

I just wanna say I saw Alien and Aliens as a kid, probably under the age of 10. I know I got really into UFOs and aliens in the 2nd or 3rd grade, and rented anything from the video store that related to them, which included these weird, creepy movies called Alien and it's sequel.

I had the toys for this reason.

I'm now in my 20s and just bought them on Ebay for my girlfriend for Christmas. I came here looking for an explanation of why Ripley looked like Winona Ryder and her quote cited her AS a marine, AND has her saying a line she never said in the films, and makes her look like a badass. Also, blue pants, red shirt, and a sash? So, thanks for explanation!

mr_goodbomb's picture
Posted by mr_goodbomb on 31 December, 2011 - 15:13
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net