CollectionDX Network

Outer Space Mantis 9-in-1

Comments

17 comments posted
Sounds neat, but the pics

Sounds neat, but the pics aren't showing up in the body of the review :(

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 9 May, 2009 - 09:48
Wow. I cannot even begin to

Wow. I cannot even begin to describe how I feel about this. So I'm not going to try.
What I will say is that this sort of thing reminds me why I love CDX so much, seeing the passion that others here have for the most bizzare toys I have ever seen. It almost makes my obsession with Transformers and other robots seem "normal" haha.

Thanks for reviewing this.

"I've never seen anything this beautiful in the entire galaxy...OK, give me the bomb."

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 9 May, 2009 - 13:11
the second of Sunrise’s Glorious Insect Protector series

Please tell me that you aren't pulling my leg and that there really is a "Glorious Insect Protector" series.
I want to believe.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 9 May, 2009 - 14:52
Ah the 80's...

It's basically a Praying Mantis sitting on a bulldozer............I LOVE IT!!!

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 9 May, 2009 - 15:38
Wow. That whole thing is

Wow. That whole thing is amazing. But I can't believe someone decided to make note of the broken parts by just writing them ON THE BOX! WTF?

Great review though.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 9 May, 2009 - 16:25
vandalism

I find the box vandalism a little bothersome. I even tried to remove the marker with rubbing alcohol (no dice). But when you find something of such rare beauty, you have to let the little things go.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 10 May, 2009 - 17:15
This Toy

This toy is insanely strange and kind of cool. Looks like the mantis is taking a dump.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 9 May, 2009 - 20:56
Googly

Googly eyes=awesome.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 May, 2009 - 12:15
Y'know, I read "googly

Y'know, I read "googly eyed", but I didn't actually think it had real moving googly eyes for some reason. Is that so? Because if so, that's is indescribably awesome.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 10 May, 2009 - 17:43
they do, in fact, move.

they do, in fact, move.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 10 May, 2009 - 18:16
This is...

One cool toy... a combing transforming mantis robot... NOBODY can't top that...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 10 May, 2009 - 19:14
"This toy is my grail.

"This toy is my grail. After seeing a blurry black and white photo in a Japanese toy magazine in the early-nineties, I was obsessed. I had seen only two of these before this one showed up on ebay last year, mislabeled as an Insecticon. I offered the seller 2500 dollars, and he bit. The other two went for at least three times this amount, so I just got lucky with an ill-informed or desperate seller. When the mantis arrived, I lost my lunch".

Heh, this sounds strangely similar to my post about A Kaman Rider tin not so long ago.

Except I was pathetically serious. ;-)

Cool toy!

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 15 May, 2009 - 01:03
I've noticed that many of

I've noticed that many of the first-tier robot ballers (yourself included) have similar stories. This was an affectionate homage. I hope to someday relate the story of obtaining a Diaclone Great Robot Base, my real grail.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 15 May, 2009 - 10:09
" I hope to someday relate

" I hope to someday relate the story of obtaining a Diaclone Great Robot Base, my real grail."

I am sure you will! Until then, keep writing stories like this as they are a great read. That toy is the funk personified.

;-)

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 15 May, 2009 - 16:32
???

Two-Thousand, Five-Hundred dollars U.S.??? Surely you jest! Broken/missing antennae, desecrated box, AND it's a cheapo R.O.C. Boot/Knock?!!
WOW!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 8 January, 2010 - 12:27
Looking at this again after a

Looking at this again after a while, it just gets better and better. I love it.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 15 October, 2010 - 14:46
I think the individual robots

I think the individual robots look good by themselves without the whole combining mantis theme. My favorite one is the steam shovel guy and as far as I can tell, the first gun is (maybe) Blitzwing's, the second gun is a slight remold of Devastator's, and the third gun is 100% Prowl/Smokescreen/Blue/Silverstreak's.

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 9 August, 2014 - 19:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net