CollectionDX Network

Transformers Activity Center

Comments

10 comments posted
This is awesome. I never had

This is awesome. I never had this, but I do have a cardboard vehicle voltron puzzle made by the same company. Loved your trip down memory lane and loved the animated gif!

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 26 September, 2012 - 19:08
Never Seen Before

Man this is a gem to be sure, great write up as well.

Money shot FTW.

Court's picture
Posted by Court on 26 September, 2012 - 22:50
WOW...

... thats pretty neat .... would be cool if someone did an up to date iacon/ark from the cartoon and make it printable. A sort of instructable and could have it printed on heavy card stock --- definitely include that ramp.

Maybe also add these:
http://tformers.com/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=1115

http://www.tfw2005.com/resources/other-third-party-unofficial-items-436/computer-control-center-5148/

blade-edge's picture
Posted by blade-edge on 26 September, 2012 - 23:59
Back in the day when cereal

Back in the day when cereal boxes came with good and engaging toys, LEGO had a deal with General Mills(?) to give out four small sports-themes sets (single-minifig ultralight airplane, helicopter, boat, and race car) for mailed-in bar code coupons. In addition to the sets being mailed to you separately, every box of the brand's cereal could be cup open to reveal a miniature landscape printed on the inner side, plus a small reserved space on the sides for stand-up mountains, rocks and trees you could cut out and place on the map.

Good times, good times.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 September, 2012 - 02:28
Great review. I used to make

Great review. I used to make evil command bases for Shockwave at around that time. When I had kids I tried to show them the wonder of cardboard. What I made was closer to a movie set piece than a kids play center, I was the only one who really appreciated it :)

odeean's picture
Posted by odeean on 27 September, 2012 - 02:56
Wow. Never saw this before.

Wow. Never saw this before. This is pretty awesome! A lot of fun and would make an awesome diorama

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 28 September, 2012 - 13:06
Yeah, but where's the

Yeah, but where's the cafeteria? LOL. Seriously, this is pretty awesome. Never saw it when I was a kid. Great review!

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 28 September, 2012 - 16:23
Great review. When I saw the

Great review.

When I saw the title, I thought for sure you were going in a different direction. I was never aware of this set (I was in my teens when it came out), but I did covet another cardboard play center that was part of a mail away club. I had never mailed away for anything before, and I ultimately used my points for a G1 Mirage (identical to the boxed version) instead of the play set.

Ah! I though it was called S.T.A.R.S., and here it is!
http://www.transformertoys.co.uk/resources/review/generation+1/+s.t.a.r.s+playset+/146
Man, I thought about that thing many times as a youngster. LOL

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 28 September, 2012 - 20:01
Twister?

That S.T.A.R.S. set looks like theres a giant cybertronian board of Twister in the middle for all your autobots to play.

Court's picture
Posted by Court on 29 September, 2012 - 01:05
Good Times Indeed!

Great review. This reminds of the days I would construct Star Wars bases out of egg cartons and that 4 drink holder thing they give you at the McDonald's drive thru. I miss having an imagination. When did I lose it and how do I get it back? I am going to find some cardboard and scotch tape ASAP.

Ligerbomb72's picture
Posted by Ligerbomb72 on 10 October, 2012 - 08:46
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net