CollectionDX Network

M.Lover Maaie

Comments

16 comments posted
You are a daring man. I have

You are a daring man. I have the yellow one and yes, the hands shattered when i tried to put them in.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 20 March, 2012 - 11:56
You know what? of the two

You know what? of the two different ones I have, the yellow is the most beat up. I took it apart to glue the pieces and it broke more while fixing it. Pretty sad.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 20 March, 2012 - 16:00
Oddly enough, I have one of these that...

...survived a fall off a fairly high PC tower onto a fairly solid surface intact. Go figure. Its a lovely little piece if you can get one in good condition, but does yours collect dust like mine seems to? I swear, it attracts more dust than any other toy I own!

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 20 March, 2012 - 12:06
Why yes it does, the broken

Why yes it does, the broken one in the review without the antenna had major dust on it...and it was boxed away. You can still see dust under the Gatling gun in the picture and in some others.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 20 March, 2012 - 15:47
In Orguss, most of the crew

In Orguss, most of the crew of the Glowmer have some pretty super dimensions if you know what I mean.

Also, M.Lover is pronounced "Mo-rabah" in the dialog which greatly confused the person writing the official DVD subtitle scripts. As far as I can tell then name is a portmanteau of "mobile" or "moving" and "rover."

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 March, 2012 - 12:45
B and V

Many people forget that while Japanese have the issues with pronouncing L and R they also have issues with pronouncing B and V. Like L, there is no V in the Japanese language and is substituted with B. There is a lot going on with the pronouncing of the name of this toy!

If you read my Orguss review (just click the Orguss title above in the box), the day I picked it up at the swap meet in the 1980's for around $10 they also had these for sale. I wish I could have picked them up, I'm sure they were about $5.00 each! I really want one of these for my collection, even in Model kit form if possible, these are standards to own if you ask me.

I like you story as it mirrors mine in many ways, read my Godaikin reviews and see!

I know these were notorious for broken parts but I didn't know how bad they really were. Jealous that you have four even if three are broken!

Please review the yellow one as well!

Great review!
Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 March, 2012 - 13:32
Yeah the V and B thing is

Yeah the V and B thing is just as interesting as L and R. In high school, my sensei drew a picture on the blackboard of a person's mouth with their tongue right in between where someone has it for either L or R and tried to explain the difficulties for Japanese speakers. Of course being a native speaker, her heavy accent didn't help her cause :3

ImaginAsian's burn-to-order DVD set that was sold through RightStuff had subtitles that were very rough. As if they took the most basic translated script provided by the Japanese side and cleaned it up slightly. Outside of Orguss itself, few of the names reflected any official English romanization. While most were fair approximations of straight romanization, it was weird to see M.Lover rendered as Moralba and Gerwalk as Gaork.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 20 March, 2012 - 14:03
Holy Crap! I remember seeing

Holy Crap! I remember seeing that as a kid! one of those mysterious robots I'd see.
I would have ebayed searched for that right now if you didn't say it was so brittle!
But the pictures are awesome.
will you be doing a short video?

kidchuckle's picture
Posted by kidchuckle on 20 March, 2012 - 17:49
while I didnt make a video to

while I didnt make a video to go along with the new one in this review, there is one with the broken one on youtube. That video inspired me to look for another which is the one seen here with the rear antennas intact.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 20 March, 2012 - 19:59
I wish I were alive early

I wish I were alive early enough to have more 80's robots. They're awesome.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 21 March, 2012 - 09:06
"Blame it on the misfortune

"Blame it on the misfortune of your birth."
-Char Aznable

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 21 March, 2012 - 12:25
siiick!

This is the stuff I come to collectionDX for - nice, very nice.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 23 March, 2012 - 00:38
I love this stuff.

I found my first Orguss piece in much the same way. It was a Korean food place somewhere in midtown manhattan. I was in the city with my parents and saw a 1/40 orgroid just sitting on the counter. It was near christmas so I asked for it and the price was pretty low.

You mention the box texture and I think that is one of the neatest parts of these toys. The boxes do feel like they were made to be special. That along with the amazing art really make them stand out. I would spend hours looking at the little catalog wishing I could fly to Japan and buy all the stuff I saw in it. Good stuff.

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 26 March, 2012 - 09:54
Never saw these before...

I didn't know they made toys of these. I have both vintage model kit versions of the Maaie & Lieea MIB unused and thought about getting rid of them because I don't have much Orguss stuff...this may just have changed that since the toys are so fragile and my kits will be sturdy if I build them...

Mr. Ginrai's picture
Posted by Mr. Ginrai on 28 March, 2012 - 18:54
very Cool, next Time I go to

very Cool, next Time I go to Japan, Orguss Kits will be my priority pick up.....would love to get the Bronco kit!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 29 March, 2012 - 11:20
The best of times, the worst of times....

Before I used the internet, years ago a second hand store had a whole bunch of Orguss stuff on sale, with a layby option. So loaded them all up and after blowing way too much money for sanity's sake, hey I don't need to eat for a few months any way, I'm gonna have an instant Orguss collection. Joy.

Sadly my Lieera's gun broke taking it out of the styrofome, that was the single worst feeling ever.
Going Bruce Lee on myself would be an understatement.
It was more like dropping a Shaolin Temple on my foot, like the Yogurt statue in Spaceballs.
The resounding 'FUUUUUUUU@#@#$$%#$%@#$@#$KKKK' COULD HAVE BEEN HEARD FROM THE MOON.

TheMaaie was cool but for me Lieea is the most beautiful toy, the gun just seems to balance out the design more. The stands are amazing, the dark brown plastic and gold chrome font/lettering really evoke a real late 70's sci fi feel. You could just imagine kids from Space1999 or from Star Trek TMP having these. The art on the box reminds me of the artwork for the old Atari 2600 games, especially Berzerk and Missle Command. And the texture of Takatoku boxes is the single most sexiest thing in toy collecting.

But this was an important lesson in vintage toy collecting. I didn't have a site like this warning me back in the day, and we had to learn the hard way. Hopefully people can do thier research with sites like this and know what to look out for. Awesome review. Orguss collecting will give you the greatest joys but also the most painful moments of despair. Good luck.

Doctor Man's picture
Posted by Doctor Man on 24 April, 2012 - 13:21
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net