CollectionDX Network

Pocket Patrol Pack

Comments

31 comments posted
wow

the girl who bought you this' life sure became a suckfest LOL!

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 11 June, 2010 - 12:52
Yes

Oh Yes I forgot to mention the DUI she got a month after she got her drivers license!

It amazing how somebody so cute could become a train wreck in a few short years.

That's dating in Southern California for you!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 12:55
word

word

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 11 June, 2010 - 17:13
What's a "Mod"? -- Sanjeev

What's a "Mod"?

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 11 June, 2010 - 13:47
Answer

Sanjeev,

You can read about Mod here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mod_(subculture)

Cheers!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 14:10
What's a "Mod"? Sanjeev, the

What's a "Mod"?

Sanjeev, the type of girl I would date. Like Regan. A scootergirl. Lol

reganmod

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 11 June, 2010 - 14:48
Drool....

Drool..Wolf Howl.... Drool......Perfect C-10 my friend!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 14:52
Ha! Thanks. I used to have

Ha! Thanks.

I used to have that box. I really loved the early Joe figures.
My uncle gave me a set of the original 12 inch figures and I recall being too young to fully appreciate them and they ended up getting ruined. Too bad.

I only wish I kept my first edition Snakeyes and Storm shadow ;-(

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 11 June, 2010 - 15:03
Green Box

JF.

My brothers grew up with the 6T's Gi Joe dolls and it was funny that they looked down at my 8T's little Joes. It must be the first documented instance of the 2nd wave Toyline being not as cool as the original! LOl

I've been buying up all the missing GI Joe figures off and on over the last few years, I will be covering the years 1982-1985 for CDX and Storm Shadow is lined up for a review.

Cheers!
Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 15:13
This reminds me of an

This reminds me of an internal thought process I had. Did anyone ever use the "portable carry case" these lines always thought to include?

From Pocket Patrol Pack, to the Star Wars Bandoleer, the He-Man bone lizard that held the figures in its ribs, to the later GI Joe APC and Star Wars Rebel Transport.

I got the idea of a carrying case to store your figures. The old vinyl bozes that led to the Darth Vader and C3PO heads are iconic of how you store your figures. But some fashionista item that you wore to carry your figures to your buddy's house down the street seemed like asking to lose a piece with every step - along with your dignity.

Whenever I took figures over to a friends I used to just put them in a bag. I did have an awesome Tupperware case that I used for my Joes, a big orange thing with a handle that doubled as a lock. The idea of walking around with my figures hanging off me sounds like an open invitation for a toy mugging.

I did have the official case, which was part of the first line before the "purse".

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 11 June, 2010 - 17:51
We used to use the He-Man

We used to use the He-Man bone dinosaur,but just as a vehicle. Neither me nor anyone else I knew actually used it to take figures from point A to point B.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 June, 2010 - 18:11
Portable Carry Case

I have never thought to put carrying cases in any kind of catagories!

But I guess there would be three:

1) Standard carry case: Darth Vader, CP30 etc I had the Darth Vader case, classic Star wars Kenner toy! I only got the GI Joe case recently it just didn't hold enough figures like the Darth Vader case.

2) Wearable Portable case: GI Portable case, Star Wars Bandoleer I never liked these, I guess I felt too old at 8 years old to be wearing my toys!

3) Vehicle Carry Case: GI Joe APC (Which I actually used as my GI Joe carry case and also reenacted choice scenes from Damnation Alley with it!, He man Bone Lizard and Star Wars Rebel transport.

I prefer the first and third especially the double play value of 3. I forgot about many that you mentioned, thanks for bringing them up.

"Toy Mugging"?! LOL I'm rolling over laughing my arse off right now!

LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 18:35
I would further divide the

I would further divide the standard case into two additional subcategories, 1) the vinyl case with tray, and 2) the injection molded plastic case. I have the Tara Toys vinyl Joe case, which features some great art.

Great review and side note, Mod. I almost picked this same case up a few weeks ago at the flea, and now you've made me regret not doing so.

As for fancy chicks, I stopped apologizing years ago and stick mainly to saying "I knew you'd be surprised" when I need to get out a tight spot.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 11 June, 2010 - 19:21
Vinyl Case

MZ

Oh yes those unofficial Official vinyl cases! LOL Didn't they have a Transformers or GoBot one as well I vaguely recall?

I never had one although it would be cool to have one now. I'll have to keep my eyes open.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 23:11
I remember those cases being

I remember those cases being all the same,just with different art on the front for whatever series it was for. I feel like I had a Gobots one,but I can't really remember. I know my wife had the Vader helmet one when she was a kid.

The Ollie's (Building 19) near me had a Justice League Unlimited one for YEARS. They probably still have it.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 12 June, 2010 - 15:32
Awesome I had and have

Awesome I had and have (somewhere in a box) a huge collection of 80's Gi Joe figures and vehicles. It was a just a great line of toys (I also loved the Marvel comics). One of my favorite aspects pf the line was that you had to put together the vehicles which was like getting a model kit AND a toy.

I never had the Pocket Patrol Pack either when I was a kid. I think the three figure limit always deterred me from getting it because I always wanted to travel with more than three hehe.

Unfortunately while I love mod girls as well, my experiences dating them have ended much the same. Perhaps there is some support group out there, I dated a mod girl anonymous?

bish's picture
Posted by bish on 11 June, 2010 - 16:33
Mod girls like any girl who

Mod girls like any girl who spends enough time identifying herself with a certain sub genre, can be high maintenance and or a little nutty. Art school girls man ( goths, punks, mods, emos etc) ... they are hot but come with a warning label and an expiration date a lot of the time. ;-)

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 11 June, 2010 - 17:19
Just another reason to move

Just another reason to move to Japan!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 June, 2010 - 18:42
Hehe too true, I know

Hehe too true, I know because I went to art school as well haha. ;)

bish's picture
Posted by bish on 11 June, 2010 - 18:56
That was a nice story.

That was a nice story.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 June, 2010 - 18:22
Man I still say the best

Man I still say the best thing I came back from japan with is my wife.
LOL

As long as I don't spend too much on toys she's as cool as can be, cute too.
She's a lil geeky too, Totoro, Pingu and Coach bags.
:)

The quest for supremacy shall never end. . . .

Blakwulf's picture
Posted by Blakwulf on 12 June, 2010 - 09:38
I totally had this, but had

I totally had this, but had completely forgotten it until now, thanks to you. I LOVED that very first series of Joe, before the kung fu grip, each character was so anonymous, and then you had snake eyes and cobra commander. Loved it.

I had the Star Wars Republic Transport ship, and always saw it more of a ship than a carrier. Never wore my figures.. at least not as a kid. ;-)

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 June, 2010 - 10:44
Mail Order

I too share a deep, deep love for the original straight-arm 17 joes.
Basic. Iconic. Classic.
The 1st 50 or so issues of the Marvel comic are pretty good too.
While most Joe enthusiasts will say "1985" is the best year of the line,
I still think the '82 series is the best.

Some would say that a "classy" 80's US vintage toy collection should include at least some of the 1st 11 carded Joes, some of the original 12 '77-78 Star Wars figures, and a major g1 transformer or two (prime, megatron, soundwave).

You got this belt thing when you sent away for the Starduster figure (basically a Duke with a different head and cool aqua colors and jetpack) from the Hasbro catalog- something a lot of Joe collectors forget when bragging about their "mint complete Starduster."

Along with the Chewbacca bandoleer, this is tied for "worst gift for kids of the 80's" - clueless aunts and uncles got these for kids when the toy isle was sold out of regular figures. Unlike the bandoleer though, which can be a challenge to get a mint example of because of the foam melting from age, no one cares about these.

Interesting that CDX reviews these, as I've seen a huge jump in interest in Japan for original US versions of the first 3 years of Joe figures. 90% of my vintage Joe collection went to Japan over the winter, to many different buyers, at pretty high prices for Joes, with the straight-arms reaching ridiculous prices for loose figures. Even Y!J has seen a nice spike in interest, well after last year's movie ran it's promo course.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 12 June, 2010 - 14:27
It makes sense I guess,

It makes sense I guess, since all Japan got of that series was the first 3 years, although they didn't get the straight arms since Takara didn't start selling them until 83-84.

And Starduster was originally a GI Joe Action Stars cereal mail-away. He later was offered with the pack via mail order that Hasbro started for the older pieces no longer on shelves.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 14 June, 2010 - 10:43
Maybe

But nobody really got that cereal promotion. The cereal was horrible, and expensive. I had tons of the Cereal Starduster figures, my grandmother managed a grocery store. The cereal sold so poorly they threw away cases upon cases of it. I clipped the box backs on at least 40-50 boxes of cereal in the dumpster. I remember that we tried to bring a vanful of Joe cereal (along with a few other types, maybe Simpsons? or A-Team?) to a local church, but they even turned it down!

99.9% of the Starduster figures you see nowadays are from the mail in Hasbro promotion. Some people even reported getting free Stardusters with larger orders. I can vouch for that as I got one for free with a big order I made in 1989. You even saw Stardusters with this belt pack at Chuck E Cheese in crane machines. You see far less of the cereal ones. They have very different construction and are pretty different when you hold them side by side. There are many different variants and no one can really pin down when one shipped and one didn't. All the info is at yojoe.com.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 18 June, 2010 - 09:50
Classic Joes

Thanks for the comments Big R!

You can see my Starduster review here: http://www.collectiondx.com/review/1987/starduster_jet_pack_trooper

Starduster, we hardly knew you!

I also like to say the 1985 was the best year and 1982 was the Classic year. What I like about 1982 was we didn't have any back story courtesy of Marvel/Sunbow but we were able to still have a great time with these figures and accessories. And the shared bodies and parts were quite cool as they matched like a military platoon as opposed everybody looking so different like later figures.

Some choice straight arm figures are quite difficult to locate without broken thumbs like Zap and Stalker. I finally realized that I'm never going to find a "deal" with some of the figures and I'm just going to have pay for it.

I'm finally getting around to reviewing my GI Joe collection for CDX, I plan to get every figure from 1982-1985 and get a matching set of both straight arm and swivel arm 1982 figures.

Expect more GI Joe soon!

Thanks!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 14 June, 2010 - 12:20
Awww

Aww man, just do what I did... buy ones that have *one* broken thumb and one good one, arm swap with a screwdriver... then you have a complete straight arm. Patience keeps the pockets full. I haven't paid more than $4-5 each ever for these guys, except for one or two of them. Luckily there was a flea market close by that had a dealer selling plastic bags of 10 joes for $3-5 which helped a lot. Also thrift stores, especially ones that do not sell toys; I got a ton of them for 25 cents or less.

I can't wait to see more of the Joe reviews. I sold my Joe collection earlier this year, so I could buy some equipment for work, and fund some more purchases, so I will have to live vicariously through these reviews.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 18 June, 2010 - 09:38
Stalkers Camo

That's what I do, I have a very good sizable 1982 GI Joe Boneyard as I usually buy in lots and were able to clean up some of my original Joes. Actually my biggest problem is I painted a lot of the molded on grenades and trench knives with a sharpie as per the GI joe fan club mailer.

Stalker poses a problem with the hand painted camo. Although I have a few Stalkers, they don't match up. the camo color, the hand painted camo and the figure patina never seem to match and it looks like a parts figure. I think more than a few collectors realize this and good original figures go for about $20-$30.00 which really isn't much but compared to the others that I get for a few dollars its a bit more.

Thanks!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 June, 2010 - 17:44
Glad you mentioned the

Glad you mentioned the thumbs, Mod. Does this problem not occur with the swivel-arm figures? I've stopped posing all of my Joes due to this problem.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 14 June, 2010 - 16:55
Thumbs

MZ,

I believe its more common with the earlier figures when Hasbro was still figuring out Quality Control on the figures. Stalker Short Fuse and Zap had weapon handles that were too big for the hands which usually resulted in the thumbs breaking off. The weapons and arms were redesigned right away and reintroduced in 1983. Also some figures weren't designed for a specific weapon like Hawk or Breaker which is possible to break off thumbs when forcing a weapon in their hands. Theses were some of the issues that the Robotech Matchbox figures had with weapons being to big for the hands.

None of my later GI Joe figures had this problem but today I don't put the weapons in the hands anymore because the plastic on some of the figures are starting to become brittle with age.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 15 June, 2010 - 10:51
Stalker! That's the one I

Stalker! That's the one I broke.

It's interesting to note that the majority of the Joe collectors out there come from the licensed property aspect of the toys. G.I. Joe was one of the better comics of that era, and the cartoon was unique for a time, in the manner of the original program length commercials. I almost forgot that there was a moment were I cherished these toys I had invented personalities for, and I now realize that I lost interest the moment the cartoon appeared.

A few years back I pulled a box of my old Joes out for a younger relative and quickly realized that they aren't enduring the same rugged warfare they had in to past. Back in the day I saw a compact car run over the jeep-thingy, which to our amazement survived in tact, so I guess I can't complain about the choice of materials.

Great toys!

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 15 June, 2010 - 17:13
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net