CollectionDX Network

Grandbirth DX

Comments

15 comments posted
I am in love... I just got

I am in love... I just got the Chogokin Sharivan figure, and now I must have this to go with him. You are right that it is uncompromisingly ugly, but really, that's what Metal Hero designs were all about... dudes in awesome armor kicked monster butt with stuff that was way closer to live action Real Robots than sentai or super stuff. Amazing.

I saw the 'Real Color' version of the DX on TBDX, which is a horridly wonderful green color, but I can't find any info about the Big Base one or the STs... I love ST Chogokins and would love to see a review of that if you have it.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 31 March, 2009 - 21:30
Far Out Dude!

Whoa! Far Out Dude....you got an interesting collection. I respect a person who values hidden gems and appreciates the aesthetics of a design like this with a REAL OPEN MIND.

(Take a BIG NOTE of that American Fanboys. I'm talking to you too TFormers.com...Use your 5 senses for a change.)

BTW...where the hell did you get that machine from? Also that Big Base version you've put right next to the GrandbirthDX toy...is it also made from the same materials as the DX toy as well, or is it just all plastic?

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 31 March, 2009 - 21:34
Is this the show where the

Is this the show where the hero is a rodeo cowboy or somesuch during the day?
I saw the first episode,but I wasn't aware the base became a mech. Awesome toy. I have to say,judging on that one picture,I think the smaller toy is far better than the big one even though it's lacking in size. The bigger one just seems,I don't know,"junkier" than the little one.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 31 March, 2009 - 21:35
Are the guns on the sides

Are the guns on the sides supposed to be out in robot mode?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 31 March, 2009 - 21:42
Yeah, the cannons should be

Yeah, the cannons should be out in robot mode. I first thought that they mainly filled the gaps between the wings and the body in ship mode, but the show (and the box, duh) has GB using the cannons as a main weapon in robo mode.

The Big Base version is much more of a toy. It's all plastic, and not as well detailed, but it's huge, so there's a trade off. I'll do a review of him in the future.

I haven't seen the ST either. Anyone wanna share?

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 31 March, 2009 - 22:15
CASH MONEY

This looks like a robot cash register!

-Jeremy

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 31 March, 2009 - 22:31
There's no ST listed on

There's no ST listed on TBDX, so I didn't know one existed...

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 31 March, 2009 - 23:02
Not an odd design at all.

I really like the design, but that is probably due to the "battleship with legs" concept Gurren Lagann used. Once you get used to that nothing seems odd!

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 1 April, 2009 - 06:08
wtf?

i like it, how the little shiny spots on the black ship look like really beady eyes! i think it is also ready to help children learn about math.

jzorn's picture
Posted by jzorn on 1 April, 2009 - 06:24
PLEASE do more reviews of these

especially of the other huge BIG BASE items from Bandai - Popy - nobody pays any attention to them in English.

There's one available today from Japan on eBay for about $170 shipped to the US. I'd say that this piece in MISB shape should be roughly around $130-150 is a fair price for this piece. It doesn't come up for sale very often at all, so keep that in mind when buying.

Plus, it's name is GRANDBIRTH, it's name is almost - almost! - as good as the epic, uber awesome best name in japanese toy history - the SPACE MAMMY !!!!

THANK YOU for this review, I'm a huge fan of the Popy bandai playsets, bases, and other wierd stuff. I've always seen the GRANDBIRTH on TBDX and other lists, and online, but it's great to get a legitimate review of the DX piece. PLEASE do the BigBase version soon, man!!!!

For whatever reason, US fans just ignore the GC series and the BIG BASE line of stuff. It's crazy, these pieces are AWESOME. I think it may have to do with the size, and the glut of cheap Shogun Warriors vehicles that were around in the 1990's. The vehicles were so common at one point, in 1997, I straight traded a case of 90's Star Wars figures to a comic store for a minty fresh case of Shogun vehicles. We're talking about 20+ diecasts in there. At the time, the guy thought I was insane, and he had that "ripped him off" smirk. Oh man, did I win on that one.

The Shogun vehicles did so poorly at retail, my dad, who managed a toy store at the time, remembers to this day, 30 years later, how bad they sold, and remembers getting the order forms for Godaikin, and ordering very little vehicles for the store, due to the Shoguns still sitting there 5-6 years later!

I haven't jumped into Big Base collecting just yet (i spend enough money on Y!J and good luck finding them on eBay or any english/french/spanish trade site) as I am still trying to find a few nice, boxed, complete examples- which is like looking for a needle in a haystack on eBay.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 April, 2009 - 11:13
big base

lol'd at Space Mammy.

I'll work on BBGB. Unfortunately, that's the only BB I own. Both of my Grandbirths fall into the "needle in a haystack" category, found by luck rather than design.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 1 April, 2009 - 12:10
Never a Fan...

...of Metal Hero's, much more of a Super Sentai fan and years later the few Metal Hero toys I had I sold when I had the great toy purge in 2001 of Japanese toys I just didn't care for.

But man! This is one hell of a toy! I just love it and I've never heard or read about this toy at all. I would have bought this one in a second if I had known about it. I like the larger Big Base version more but either way it is a great design. Fantastic review.

Cheers!
Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 1 April, 2009 - 13:13
Funky

Look... It's a pregnant Robot.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 2 April, 2009 - 02:27
Well he is called

Well he is called grandBIRTH. He's also uniquely equipped to vend peanuts at a space sporting event.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 2 April, 2009 - 12:18
It is a very "Mead" aesthetic

Pyramidal things with giant circles in the side are basically Syd Mead's signature design feature.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 2 April, 2009 - 13:14
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net