CollectionDX Network

Destroyer

Comments

16 comments posted
I used to have Destroyer;

I used to have Destroyer; still do somewhere, I think.

While I kept the additional rifle barrel and fit it to the shoulders, I never knew it could combine with the cannon barrel! However, I too never added the additional decals beyond the ones you have on yours here.

I think I had two other GoBots- a space shuttle, and a futuristic black/red/silver car with the label "time machine"- but I don't know if they were TFs or GoBots.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 January, 2010 - 21:40
Eva_unit_4A, The futuristic

Eva_unit_4A,

The futuristic car is probably "Psycho". He's with the Renegade faction as well.

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 03:41
I own Destroyer. I like

I own Destroyer. I like Destroyer, I do. But Destroyer is one of the homeliest robots ever. Good review, though. The more Machine Robo the better. The middle mode reminds me of Bonaparte Tulcas from Dorvack.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 12 January, 2010 - 21:42
This Is Painful

This is a painful memory for me to see this robot. It's painful to me because it was 'the last' Super Go-Bot that my parents bought me in the summer of 1985.

I miss this toy a lot right along with Leader-One, Cy-Kill, & Puzzler which is one of the greatest gestalt robots that I've ever owned.

I thank you for sharing this 'knoted'. Thank you kindly.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 12 January, 2010 - 22:40
My pleasure :) I think I saw

My pleasure :)

I think I saw another Destroyer on Ebay recently, including tank treads. Only missing 1 single rear wheel. 42 bucks.
Perhaps too much since that's not mint shape. I guess the sellers feels he can ask $42 just because of the rubber treads...

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 03:45
I have a bunch of Destroyers

I have a bunch of Destroyers in various conditions, including one really good one that I finally recently found the second gun barrel for. Thanks for finally clearing up how to use the barrel in bot mode, and excellent review of a classic 80's toy! Destroyer is a really fantastic, goofy little figure.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 13 January, 2010 - 09:54
Never had a Super Gobot as a

Never had a Super Gobot as a kid, and to be honest, I kind of laughed at them when compared to Transformers. Now, though, I'd like to pick up a few, notably this guy and Psycho. Too bad about the treads, though?

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 13 January, 2010 - 11:29
Mmmk, I found this one's

Mmmk, I found this one's still up for bid : Destroyer on Ebay

50 bucks... one wheel missing. Well at least both treads look good. Usually you can find another one without treads for about $5.

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 11:50
Some of the Gobots are a

Some of the Gobots are a little.....uhhh lacking,but when they're good (like this guy) they're really cool.
It's kind of funny how the box text is so verbose (for a toy package,at least) when the actual show was like a slightly less mature version of Care Bears.
That's not a knock on Gobots BTW. I might have mentioned this before,but when I was a wee'un,I liked Transformers,but I liked Gobots much better. I didn't really get into TFs until Gobots had allready petered out.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 January, 2010 - 11:31
All you Chogokin folks be

All you Chogokin folks be warned! Rubber chemically reacts with styrofoam causing the break down. I work with rubber for a living, just so you know.

rand's picture
Posted by rand on 13 January, 2010 - 12:52
Hey, thanks for the info !

Hey, thanks for the info ! Indeed, I remember when I opened the box, the right tank tread was a bit covered with tiny styrofoam brittle pieces. This explains it then.
Weird though, because the left tank tread is perfectly fine...

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 13:38
Spiral zone Boots

Yes, I found that out with my Spiral Zone rubber Boots that eat through the styrofoam!

LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 January, 2010 - 15:00
Great Leopard

The tank mode is awesome! With die cast parts, me likey!

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 13 January, 2010 - 18:54
Great review, knoted! I love

Great review, knoted! I love seeing stuff like this.

I remember, maybe a year or so ago, on TBDX, we were discussing tank-robot toys that actually did NOT involve splitting the tank treads in half (thus, effectively breaking the track links). I was surprised to see that there weren't many at all, and that this toy was at the top of that list, in terms of coolness.

Hey, why don't you just throw down for a beater Destroyer just to cannibalize it for a new tank tread?

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 13 January, 2010 - 19:05
Thanks ! Yeah, I was

Thanks !

Yeah, I was thinking about that idea of getting another one to use as a junker, just for a new tank tread...

Then again, I see Ebay guys like that charging 50 bucks for a less than Mint item..(no box & missing rear suspension wheel).
I mean, might as well walk into the local toystore; perhaps they got some cheap bulldozer toy with rubber treads which' size, matches Destroyer.

Odds are small but who knows...

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 20:24
Vintage rubber tank tread is

Vintage rubber tank tread is hit and miss on ALL toy tank vehicles. I find that twenty/ thirty year old rubber tank tread has a "memory" even when it is otherwise in great shape. I can roll some toy tanks just fine, others not so much because over time the stuff becomes stretched out of shape. There are probably numerous factors as to why. Btw, I actually do engage in toy tank battles, ala "Stripes" on a regular basis.

The bottom line with the rubber tank tread issue hinges on the six year kid's enjoyment back in 1984. It's hard to believe we took this feature for granted at the time. When I pick up a toy tank that rolls on tiny, hidden wheels instead of rubber tread I feel bad for the kids who don't know what they're missing. All toy materials degrade, but not all toys kick so much ass when they're new.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 14 January, 2010 - 18:32
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net