CollectionDX Network

Dana O' Shee

Comments

16 comments posted
There's the figures by WAVE

There's the figures by WAVE (or Megahouse, I don't recall which) for the Wings of Rean OVA. That's probably as much as a revival as you can hope for, although I'm sure Bandai will do SOC Spec (or Armor Plus) for Dunbine.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 15 March, 2010 - 19:41
awesome, glad to see this

awesome, glad to see this reviewed. I have a couple of these cause I just love em. Its not really my style of robot design, but Dunbine stuff was a part of my childhood, even though I had no clue who they were. I love the artwork on these boxes.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 15 March, 2010 - 19:44
I need one of these so bad.

I need one of these so bad... and some of the other Clover Dunbine stuff, too.
I have the 1/46 Dunbine, and some of the tiny Aura Battlers from Seven, but the clunky, weird, mid-scale Clover items are in a whole class of their own.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 15 March, 2010 - 19:45
I have- somewhere buried in

I have- somewhere buried in my closet- a 5" Dunbine. I do not know when it was made or by whom, but it has mostly ABS with die-cast feet, and a removable pilot & cockpit window. A sword was provided, but I don't know if if came with the sheath or Aura Cannon forearm guns. Poseability was due to a series of PVC/metal one-axis joints, like an early version of Revoltech, so it has a good range of motion, including wrists and ankles. It has no paint save for the eyes and yellow crest markings on the head.

Anyone heard of this, or if they made any of the other Aura Battlers? (I haven't tried looking for them online yet.)

...BTW, that OP song is painful to listen to.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 March, 2010 - 20:55
that's the clover joint

that's the clover joint model. There are a ton of knockoffs out there; I have a couple. It's listed on tbdx's data file: http://www.toyboxdx.com/datafiles/data/clover/

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 15 March, 2010 - 21:15
That's the one! So, is this

That's the one!

So, is this a knock-off, or the real deal? Were there any other Aura Battlers made?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 March, 2010 - 23:00
That opening song was rad.

Thanks for posting it.

thehappyknife's picture
Posted by thehappyknife on 15 March, 2010 - 21:38
I used to have this toy, as

I used to have this toy, as well as a few other Clover toys from this series and Srungle. I got them real cheap about 13 years ago. Man this review brings back memories. I don't remember what I did with them, probably sold or traded. Thanks for this review...makes me want to buy them again. I know they aren't very popular but I actually really liked the old Clover toys from the early 80s and the cool thing is you can still get these for pretty cheap.

Jeromy's picture
Posted by Jeromy on 15 March, 2010 - 21:41
Yeah, I paid no more than 15

Yeah, I paid no more than 15 each for the 2 I have, no one was bidding- within a couple months of each other. They are both in unplayed condition and intact sticker sheet, so they should be easy to get ahold of cheap if you consistently keep an eye out for em.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 15 March, 2010 - 22:47
At the 2009 Summit, there

At the 2009 Summit, there were at least three of the darn things on the selling tables. It's just one of those pieces everyone (myself included) seems to get.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 15 March, 2010 - 22:57
Attack, attack, attack...

One of my favourite anime openings!

For some reason, despite having had the opportunity, I've never really sought Dunbine toys - I always thought they were much worse looking than this. Having seen a couple of articles recently, though, they seem to be much better than my impression of them.

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 16 March, 2010 - 13:59
I heart Clover

Clover was a great toy company, I had the Dunbine clover in the scale for many years and it was a great toy. I sold it to thin my collection but I have no complaints with this line or most anything by Clover. These toys were easily available back in the 8t's and no collection isn't complete without a Clover toy.

Great review as always!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 16 March, 2010 - 14:09
It's on the shelf

I've had this one on the chogokin shelf for many years. I really like it for what it is. Simple, well executed, FUN!
And of course...die cast parts.

Nice review- Thanks!
Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 16 March, 2010 - 14:24
I picked one up back in

I picked one up back in December on eBay virtually deadstock for $4.95 with no other bidders. It's a real joy, but a terrible likeness of the line art. The thing reminds me more of the Bugroms from EL-HAZZARD!

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 18 March, 2010 - 12:26
I saw a couple episodes of

I saw a couple episodes of this and liked it. I would say we'll almost definately see a remake or an "alternate universe" or something within the next decade.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 20 March, 2010 - 12:45
It was called

It was called Wings of Rean, and it came out in 2005.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 1 April, 2010 - 20:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net