CollectionDX Network

The Powered Suit (Starship Troopers Studio Nue/DAICON III)

Comments

11 comments posted
They probably figured

They probably figured everyone buying this kit would have a copy of the novel, complete with illustrations on how the helmet hatch works so they could reverse engineer that function into the kit :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 October, 2012 - 08:50
Amazing that you found the

Amazing that you found the kit in the first place, those vinyl kits were rare in the 1980's and its great to see you put it into good use and not leave it in the box as a "collectable".

This is the best finish I've seen you done yet! I love your pre shading and weathering. As you know with my kits I tend to like the subtle more reserved weathering like you did here. There is a lot to learn here from you for modelers!

Thanks for the review! Looking forward to seeing more!!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 October, 2012 - 10:01
Good review and a good build,

Good review and a good build, man! Major Nostalgia!

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 4 October, 2012 - 10:02
The proportions on this kit

The proportions on this kit are great, I love the thickness of the limbs and the massive backpack.

As usual your scale weathering is top-notch, both the slight "corrosion" and "paint wear" at the seams and panel lines and the dirt on the feet.

I spy that Ramba Ral emblem on the knee... too bad you couldn't figure out the opening hatch hinge, or you could perhaps have put the head and shoulders from a Haro Cap Ramba inside the cockpit :3

"This kid is my idol."

I know, right? We all want to be a young teen girl who loves robots.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 4 October, 2012 - 13:46
Thanks. As always you have a

Thanks. As always you have a great eye for what I am trying to accomplish. If I were to build another of this kit, I would absolutely spend some time to figure the helmet opening deal out. I'd probably also cut out the visor and install a pilot bust and cockpit ;)

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 4 October, 2012 - 17:51
Fantastic build

I love how bright and colorful the indicators are in relation to the paint scheme.

Is there anywhere online that lists vintage General Products stuff? There is currently a GP catalog on YJ that looks amazing, and is super expensive.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 October, 2012 - 17:15
Unfortunately I do not have

Unfortunately I do not have much more info on GP, other than anecdotal evidence of other people completing kits they claim were made by GP. While I wouldn't throw down a ton of money for a GP catalog, I would be fascinated to see what else was in it.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 4 October, 2012 - 17:52
Well, I found a catalog from

Well, I found a catalog from '84 for lot cheaper. Someone posted it in the wrong section on YJ with a really low buy it now. The one I really want was from a few years later, but when it gets here I'll scan it and let you know.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 9 October, 2012 - 20:24
Catalog post is up

Hey, just wanted to mention that I have my scans up to download in my blog post here. From looking at the catalog, I think that this kit came out after 1984 at the earliest. It doesn't look like GP had figured out vinyl yet, as all of the kits offered at this point were either done in styrene plastic or white metal. Of course, without having seen earlier catalogs I can't say for sure.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 November, 2012 - 20:19
That is super cool, thank

That is super cool, thank you! There is all sorts of neat information to be gleaned from those scans...

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 4 November, 2012 - 21:40
As a part time model kit

As a part time model kit maker, I just love this sort of thing, nice work & great review/build.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 6 October, 2012 - 02:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net