CollectionDX Network

ST Godsigma

Comments

8 comments posted
I love these reviews of

I love these reviews of these old overlooked chogokin, so keep them up.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 30 August, 2010 - 17:57
Great review. I especially

Great review. I especially enjoyed the scans from the catalog. While this ST version seems more anime accurate, I like the DX version's proportions better - I think the small head and big shoulders of the DX version give it an epic look that this ST one lacks.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 30 August, 2010 - 22:22
This is one of my favorite

This is one of my favorite ST's...the "shin missiles are especially a nice touch. As a ST "connoisseur", Godsigma and other ST's of that period (late 70's to early 80's, including Golion, Sun Vulcan, & Daltanious) were some of the best stuff that Popy churned out.

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 1 September, 2010 - 11:37
Great review. I have an old

Great review. I have an old Godsigma model I need to assemble; I hope it comes out looking this nice.

Call me crazy, but did the GatchaSpartan and Dartanias toys get US releases at some point? They look crazy-familiar...

"Let [s]he who is without error ignite the first flame."

sleet01's picture
Posted by sleet01 on 1 September, 2010 - 15:01
The DX Daltanious was

The DX Daltanious was released Stateside under the "Godaikin" line in the early to mid 80's. I don't think the Gatchaspartan was ever released here, though Bandai did release them in Europe.

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 1 September, 2010 - 18:04
Godsigma!

Awesome Josh, I was really digging this.
Godsigma was the first weird, non-TF, super robot I was exposed to as a kid, when one of my friends had the wisdom to pick up the DX Godaikin on sale in the 80s.

I'm glad the design does grow on you. One thing this ST has over the DX, is actual firing missles. The DX shoots off 3 sets of fists, but not a missle to be found in the set.

At first, yeah the proportions are wonky, with the oversize, blocky legs, different colors, etc., but this always struck me as one of the most (forgive me) "Japanese" feeling warrior hero robots of the combiner class. Very spacey, and as Txos says, EPIC!

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 2 September, 2010 - 08:08
Quote: [Yutaka Izubuchi, the

Quote: [Yutaka Izubuchi, the creator of Raxephon, was involved in the character design for this series.]

Wasn't Yutaka Izubuchi involved in the mechanical design for God Sigma? I have always known that the character designer was Kaoru Shintani (known in the US for his Area 88 comic), but I may be wrong.

DynamicDynamic's picture
Posted by DynamicDynamic on 10 February, 2014 - 12:33
You are correct, that's an

You are correct, that's an error on my part. I used to use character designer and mechanical designer interchangeably. I'll update it accordingly.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 11 February, 2014 - 09:44
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net