CollectionDX Network

YF-19 25th Anniversary

Comments

15 comments posted
Nice review Andrew!

Nice review. No video? :P

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 27 April, 2009 - 18:03
If you want a small video

If you want a small video with no sound then I'll make one.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 27 April, 2009 - 18:10
The real X-19 (built to

The real X-29 (built to explore forward-swept wing dynamics, which allow tighter maneuvering at high speeds in theory) was always way cooler than the YF/VF-19. (The modern next-generation Russian Suhkoi Su-47 uses a forward-sweep wing, and has yet to enter production.)

While enclosing the cockpit within the torso was a good way to shield it in Battroid Mode (the only really good improvement over the first-gen. VF-1s), I never liked how long the nose was in Fighter/GERWALK Modes, how the arms hang over the wings (it's just plumb awkward-looking and how it changes!), and how the main wings hang off of the hips (how the hell does it hang onto unspent missiles?).
However, I can see an advantage in the smallish shield on the left arm using a pinpoint barrier system (a cleaver use of accidental-Overtechnology), and a hidden missile bay in both legs (even though it would not have enough space there for said practically-used missiles).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 April, 2009 - 19:09
Meh, the X-29 is just an F-5

Meh, the X-29 is just an F-5 (or MiG-28 in Top Gun) with new wings. Mostly its the paintjob that makes it look cool.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 27 April, 2009 - 19:24
I generally like black repaints

I generally like black repaints, but the hokey lettering throws me off on this one. Cursive? Really? The upper thighs of the battroid mode look cheap. But the toy itself is pretty awesome. I hope to someday be able to afford one. Anyone wanna trade one for a sweet Studio Halfeye God Gravion?? (note: I am accepting interesting trade opportunities for Studio Halfeye God Gravion, ala Kramer's t-shirt belonging to screen legend Anthony Quinn).

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 28 April, 2009 - 17:06
Sweet review, Andrew. Good

Sweet review, Andrew. Good to know what to be aware of when purchasing and first messing around with this toy.

Does the gunpod attach to the belly of the fighter mode well? That's the only detail I didn't catch from the review, and it's always been an important factor to me.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 3 May, 2009 - 00:08
The YF-19 has a really solid

The YF-19 has a really solid gunpod mount, and I'm pretty sure by the Anniversary release Yamato fixed the crooked gunpod issue present on the first 19 release.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 3 May, 2009 - 00:23
Thanks, Ben! Still not 100%

Thanks, Ben!

Still not 100% convinced I should buy one of these. I'm not feeling this black color scheme or the Macross Plus beige. The blue VF-X2 scheme wasn't bad, but I think I'd rather have the blue Macross 7 version.

Oh, I forgot to mention in my first post that I have the Bandai 1/65 Fire Valkyrie. I love that thing to death...even though there's so much hatred towards it out there (hmmm...maybe I should review it...). It evokes the feelings of playing with Jetfire when I was little. It's super-simple, rugged, and actually suitable for kids. Sure, it's a bit of an ugly duckling, but it's durability and the fact that you don't need to hold a PhD to transform it is a HUGE bonus!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 3 May, 2009 - 00:49
You should review it... it'd

You should review it... it'd make Dave even madder! I have the Bandai VF-17, and it's a phenomenal toy... the Mac7 chunkies are really underappreciated and great toys.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 3 May, 2009 - 11:29
Oh yeah! I totally forgot: I

Oh yeah! I totally forgot: I have the 1/65 VF-17, too! It's not bad, but I think the VF-19's way better. Aiight...I'll have to dig that guy out then!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 4 May, 2009 - 12:20
I've only ever seen the

I've only ever seen the Bandai Macross 7 toys in person once or twice. I did own the 1/100 scale Fire Valkyrie model which was absolutely terrible.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 May, 2009 - 19:48
You really thought the 1/100

You really thought the 1/100 Fire Valk Bandai kit was bad???

Sure, the parts-swapping was intense (you had to swap out the whole hip assembly), but other than that, I thought the fit and finish were pretty great. The battroid seemed to look great and was fairly solid...the fighter looked a tad clunky (chunky-ish proportions and visible gaps), but it was passable.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 May, 2009 - 12:01
Well it is terrible in that

Well it is terrible in that mid-90's Bandai High Grade way. Plus the hip joint broke on mine. You know that long stalk with the ball on the end that always breaks?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 May, 2009 - 14:32
Well, poop. Yeah, if that

Well, poop. Yeah, if that part breaks, the whole kaboodle's pootched. Still, I don't recall that part being particularly fragile..

I actually dug Bandai HG back in the 90's (that's when I was actually making Gunpla kits....ah, Gundam Wing...*before* we knew anything about the cartoon!).

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 May, 2009 - 17:48
Those parts would always

Those parts would always break eventually. There's a reason why the new MG kits and HG kits changed their joint methods. So many tears.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 May, 2009 - 22:19
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net