CollectionDX Network

VT-1 Super Ostrich

Comments

24 comments posted
Wait- that was the dubbed

Wait- that was the dubbed version for "Clash of the Bionoids"!? I thought it was just a bootleg fan-sub from Korea!

Thanks for the side-by-side comparison of the three VF-1 noses; that helped explain a lot.

That's the funny thing about VF-1s- they don't lend well to doing the splits.

Nice review. Nice toy. I don't want one.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 September, 2009 - 21:18
I love the design, but the

I love the design, but the lack of a robot head is a big down.
Why wasn't the head that the tv training version had included?

saga_gx's picture
Posted by saga_gx on 29 September, 2009 - 21:25
Because this is a toy of the

Because this is a toy of the VT-1.

If you want a VF-1D then go buy one.

And the VF-1D is not a trainer. Its like the F-16D, which is a two-seat F-16 that has some different features but is still a combat airplane.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 29 September, 2009 - 21:55
It's rather pretty isn't it

I just wish I had the time to sit down & give these toys the paint job they deserve. Can someone please tell me where to order the Flexdisplay stand that's mentioned here. The Yamato stand is o.k. for gerwalk mode, but I never liked the method used to display fighter mode. Appreciate the excellent review.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 29 September, 2009 - 23:44
Those exposed engine details

Those exposed engine details are PURE SEX. Yowza.

Nice review. Extra points for including the same quote that popped into my head when I saw the toy ("training aircraft").

HLJ.com sells these stands, Rigas. Not sure about domestic suppliers.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 30 September, 2009 - 01:08
Thank's for the info

Thank's for the info Japester.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 04:15
LAtoys is the supplier of

Laftoys is the supplier of these stands. They are Lost and Found Toys. They even offer a set deal of all three types.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 September, 2009 - 07:04
Thank you, much appreciated.

Thank you, much appreciated.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 12:59
LAtoys on Amazon?

Damn it, Flexdisplay stand does not bring anything up in the search. Every variation I try is a no-go. Is there a specific name for it that I can try?

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 10:23
http://www.laftoys.com/index.

http://www.laftoys.com/index.php?cPath=15&osCsid=3e47da7c56ae5dd9015a8d67b37d81b3

Not sure about posting links to shop sites that don't advertise here, but the link is to the specific page for the stands, not the toys they sell. I have dealt with them before and they are a good place.

As for the toy, that whole business with the tail fins is new to me. I guess I just never noticed that it's always been that way. Again, like the forthcoming Elint-seeker, I'm not sure if it will be as well received as expected. What made these two so desirable was their rarity, not so much their looks.

The Ostrich at least features heavily in the movie, my only want for this piece would be a non-space suit Misa and Hikaru figure as well for the stranded bit. Although maybe Yamato has plans for a limited edition with damage and accessories for that scenario.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 30 September, 2009 - 11:55
Just placed an order!

Thank's to everyone that helped. I'm glad I finally have these stands coming, they always looked good in photos of peoples collections that I had seen. I'm one of those people looking foward to the Elint seeker, love the way it looks in gerwalk mode. Just wish it was a little less expensive.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 12:15
www.flightpose.com

new site to order the stands from lost and found toys

slee915's picture
Posted by slee915 on 5 February, 2011 - 19:57
You know,I think it really

You know,I think it really speaks to the quality of this movie that even when it was chopped up and given a dub track that borders on comedy,kids still loved it,and as adults have nolstalgic feelings for it.
It's just such a well made movie that it's inate goodness shows through no matter what you do to it.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 30 September, 2009 - 23:45
Very well put. I agree

Very well put. I agree completely, I was astonished at the quality of Macross when I finally saw it, compared to the rather shallow & clearly aimed at children Robotech rendition. Which was the only version I had seen up until recently. Most of my nostalgia stems very srongly from Robotech, which made a huge impression to my 5yr old mind at the time. It was truly cutting edge, with mech designs that are still fascinating to this day.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 1 October, 2009 - 02:51
Macross:DYRL really opened

Macross:DYRL really opened my eyes to how beautiful animation could be. I had grown up on Battle of the Planets and Starblazers as a kid in the 70's, but neither show had the level of detail and polish of Macross. Seeing it was like discovering a whole new world of sci-fi. LOL

In fact, when I used to talk to kids at anime conventions, and I'd hear them complain about how they "need" to pirate anime because a boxset of 20+ hours shouldn't cost more than $10, I'd mention to them that in 1985 I had to chip in with two other friends so we could buy Macross:DYRL from a shady dealer at a con. It was a third generation VHS copy....and cost us $80. And we were the coolest kids on the block for owning it! ^_^

(The above run-on sentence is an homage to the wonderful dubbing of the 60's and 70's. LOL)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 1 October, 2009 - 03:19
So you're arguing against

So you're arguing against piracy by telling them about a time you bought a pirated tape?!?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 1 October, 2009 - 10:59
Yes, buying a bootleg in

Yes, buying a bootleg in 1985 (pre-internet, with absolutely NO way of obtaining a legal copy) is nearly identical to teens who don't want to click a web site link or go to Best Buy and buy a legal copy for pocket change.

The scary thing is, kidnicky, this is the first time someone has missed the point. None of the teens ever focused on the piracy point of the story. They understood we were talking about price and how relative it all is.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 1 October, 2009 - 14:22
$120 DYRL

I remembers those days getting anime back in the early 1980's. You had two choices: Buy an original VHS copy of DYRL new for $120.00 from Pony Toy or Books Nippon or hit up a comic book convention a get a copy for $25.00+ for a second and third generation copies.

I bought my copy of DRYL for $25.00 at a comic book convention in 1986 at the Disneyland hotel and I ws luckily it was a very nice copy but it had no subtitles and I still own it to this day.

If you have to remember $120.00 was a lot of money back then, I remember my mom chewing me out because my dad bought me a $25.00 Spiral Zone figure! That much money wasted on a toy! Lol.

I only buy original copies of DVD's now and don't advocate bootlegs at all with the exception of its not available but I will quickly upgrade when it has an official release as I don't like taking money from people who worked hard on their projects. But How else am I going to own Stanley Kubrick's Fear & Desire, Tarintino's My Best Friends Birthday, Ralph Backshi's Coonskin & Hey Good Looking, Hitchcock's Elstree Review, Billy Wilder's 5 Graves to Cairo and Coppola's You're a Big Boy Now. As soon as these have official releases I will be there the first day they are released! It's really in the hands of the studio.

Cheers LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 1 October, 2009 - 17:35
So yeah guys, how about that

So yeah guys, how about that toy.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 1 October, 2009 - 19:40
We're afraid to talk about

We're afraid to talk about the toy for fear we'll be harshly corrected.

LOL

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 1 October, 2009 - 20:48
I like it, and it's real

I like it, and it's real pretty, but I don't think I'd shell out for it... DYRL just doesn't have that effect on me.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 October, 2009 - 19:46
I might go for the DYRL

I might go for the DYRL VE-1 Elintseeker when it comes out. The VT-1 never did it for me, but they share quite a few components that didn't appear in the series.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 October, 2009 - 13:55
I like the Elintseeker

I like the Elintseeker myself. I actually also wanted this one, but it just looks to much like a coast guard vessel.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 3 October, 2009 - 01:45
Hey I was just kidding

Hey I was just kidding around with my comment,I could care less if you do or do not pirate anime.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 3 October, 2009 - 10:28
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net