CollectionDX Network

Voltes V

Comments

16 comments posted
Great start!

Loved the video review!! Excellent review. I'd love to see more video reviews! An great start, keep up the excellent work!

Best wishes,

BlazeEagle

BlazeEagle's picture
Posted by BlazeEagle on 12 June, 2006 - 18:40
great review

I loved your video review! I had the original big Voltes V toy as a kid -- and it's nice to see the major improvements on this new one.

Just a comment -- those pointy things inside the Volt Lander "hood" are supposed to be drills, so they're not really supposed to shoot out.

Again, great review! I'm going out to buy one!

robbyv's picture
Posted by robbyv on 12 July, 2006 - 00:15
Very cool...Thanks a lot.

The video review satisfied me a lot.That toy is totally AMAZING with its versatility,arsenal,etc...I'm glad I found the website that shows its "moves"(as seen on the video review).
Now I wish I could buy one of those in my hometown...OMG!!!NO MONEY,NO CREDIT CARD,NOT A SINGLE ONE AVAILABLE IN MY HOMETOWN,Philippines.Man,how long could I wait for santa to give me one of those? Anywayz,THANKS TO WHOEVER PUT THIS AMAZING TOY REVIEW ABOUT MY ALL-TIME FAV ROBOT CHARACTER, VOLTES V!!!!!

--Paul Tan--

J Paul Tan II's picture
Posted by J Paul Tan II on 25 May, 2007 - 07:58
Just plain great!!!!

Have been looking for this toy (at least, its old variant) since I was a kid. Went to a lot of stuffs since then, but then, you just dont forget this one. just got one a couple of days ago, and another one coming within the next few days. made sure i have a spare and more. just a plain great toy!!!!!

deltagrail's picture
Posted by deltagrail on 25 July, 2007 - 09:20
I'm a die hard Voltes V fan

I'm a die hard Voltes V fan even when a kid.. and
I'm somewhat one of the lucky kids under 7 years
old to have been bought the Voltes V DX (1979) by their
dad. When I was a kid, I was happy enough to play
with the die cast toy but as I grew up and developed
a taste for perfection, I began to get dissappointed on
how inaccurate the toy was made. When I first saw the
SOC GX-31 version, I got very excited to see how accurate
its features was compared to the Anime. With this excitement
and now that the once 5 year old boy has grown up and
is now able to afford a GX-31, I bought one the minute I
had the chance. So there i was, very excited as I got home
not a moment spared, opened the box, checked the contents and
without looking at the manual, combined the 5 vehicles to form
Voltes V! What a feeling it was, I was back to being that 5 year
old boy which dad bought a Volt in Box years ago... after a few
minutes of adoring the GX-31, the excitement and sense of fullfilment
changed to dissappointment.. Yes, after a few minutes with GX-31 I've
noticed some points, in which Bandai could have done better or plainly
could have done with this version.
1) The neck seems to thin
2) The landing gears could have been made better on the wing part of
Cruizer 1
3) the upper legs could have been longer
4) second important thing is, they could have put push-to-release locks
(This system is present in the DX Version)
to hold each vehicle into robot mode instead of just snap-ons.
Due to the heavy lower body (Frigate and Lander combined). I've
experienced the Panzer and Frigate separating when holding Voltes V
by the waist to lift it
5) and the most important thing of all, they could have copied the
red arm joint system of the old Voltes V DX version. With the GX-31
only the upper part of the red arm joint folds, thus providing us with
an unproportional arm when folded. If only the lower portion of the
red arm joint also folds like the old DX version, more arm poses can
be made by the GX-31 and Voltes V would have looked better doing
arm poses with the sword or without.

With that said, I know this is a long shot but I hope that someone from
Bandai would plan on creating a renewal GX-31 just like what they did
with the GX-01 when they created and released GX-01R.

Oh please...please... let there be a GX-31R! How I'd love for that to happen
'til then all I can do is wait

birdlog's picture
Posted by birdlog on 2 August, 2007 - 04:45
I'll see you soon GX-31

WOW! as in really big WOW! It's unimaginable how this masterpiece of a toy is in demand! I pre-ordered one at Hobby Link Japan last September and the new batch of this was supposed to come out at month-end of October..and it did. HLJ did not even have remaining stocks at all. It went like OCTOBER-RESTOCK STATUS straight to BACK-ORDER STATUS..skipping ON-STOCK! (I'm quite sure coz I'm checking their website everyday)

Fortunately and thankfully, my order's been confirmed and is now in the process of being shipped. So I'll see you soon GX-31! Well hopefully a week or two from now. Can't wait to get my hands on you! LOL

TENKUU KEN!! V NO NI GIRI!!!

Cyclone Blue

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 30 October, 2007 - 21:22
soc lover

leon
hi,had just brought this guy few week weeks ago from my local dealer.had have with it n even get some of the paint chipped.haha,but its ok,cause its a great piece with lot of gimmicks n fun with..good review josh,i buy it because of your review r too good.

l_q_long's picture
Posted by l_q_long on 18 May, 2008 - 12:01
My SOC Voltes V comments

I finally got my hands on an SOC Voltes V. I was as giddy as a schoolboy getting a really cool Christmas gift.

After tinkering and admiring my purchase, here are some of my comments on the toy....
- The toy's design is as faithful and comparable with the animé series. This feature really made my day.
- The connecting neckpipe (for lack of a proper term) of bomber 2 could have been a tad longer or had a retractable feature similar to that of the voltes bazooka.
- I can't seem to connect the rear landing gears of bomber 2. Can you guys give an explanation and a solution to this?
- The folding sword was a nice feature to add to mimic the blade coming out of the hilt but unfolded, it sucked. So I just keep it folded up and stored in panzer's belly
- The connection of the right lander is not as solid as the left's once volted in.
- Overall, the toy really rocks.

Finally, my childhood has closure :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 10 June, 2008 - 00:50
Did anyone get the Voltes Headquarters playset?

Did anyone get the Voltes Headquarters playset? The SOC Reideen review today made me realize nobody did a review of the excellent bootleg playset of the Headquarters.

Nice quality plastic, lights in the bottom, different parts to display as vehicles or robot mode... It takes the SOC Voltes set from "Amazing" to "Top 3 SOCs ever" status, and really is a must-own if you have this set.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 13 June, 2008 - 10:11
Gets better....

I've been "playing" with my Voltes for a few weeks now. Every 2 days, I volt them in, do different poses, then volt them out and display them in v formation. The color scheme of Voltes goes hand-in-hand with my superman collection, even enhances it.
I've noticed that as the weeks go by, the volting-in process gets easier. Could this be a feature that Bandai has considered into the designing of their toys? My purchase of the chogokin has surpassed all my expectations.

I'm really considering getting the Camp Big Falcon set to complement it, but parting with 4,500 bucks (100 dollars rounded off) is something of a big deal to part with. Maybe someday :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 7 July, 2008 - 02:22
Video review comments

I got to watch your video review on the SOC Voltes yesterday. As good as the review is (as well as other reviews that you do), I'd like to react on some of the comments you made on the toy:

- The mecha falcon (mechanical eagle in the Philippine translation) played a crucial role in the upgrade of the volt-in system of the robot. In one episode, the Boazanians figured out that they could disable Voltes by frying its electromagnetic system by creating a beam capable of knocking it out completely, rendering the volting-in process useless. The falcon comes into play in part two of the episode by delivering blue prints of a new and improved electromagnetic engine system. It also delivers a new engine and plants it into panzer (thus the inclusion of that small engine)

- The weapons showcase is modeled after Camp Big Falcon, the headquarters of the volt machines. I agree with you that Bandai should've been consistent with their labeling of the showcases.

- The chain knuckle's meant to punch through a beast fighter, then reel them in closer in order to give it a further beating. In the show, there are 2, one on each arm.

- You were commenting on the purpose of the small trapdoor on the cockpit of panzer. Asides from sporting a number 3, it's meant to easily pull out the cockpit upon disassembly of the mecha.

- Lastly, I was completely mortified by the way that you haphazardly handled the toy. I take great care when I tinker with my chogokin, so seeing how you handled it shocked me. But at the end of the day, its your toy.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 8 July, 2008 - 23:45
Operational Base!

I recently purchased the Operational Base (Camp Big Falcon in the Philippines) accessory to complement my SOC Voltes V. I'll share a review and some pics soon :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 4 August, 2008 - 03:46
nO rESPECT fOR tHE vOLT iN bOX!

I still find this original release GX-31 better than the "respect for volt-in box" issue that they will release soon.

the deeper and darker blue and red and metallic silver colors give voltes a far stronger appearance - making him look like really a "super robot"...and anime accurate.

With the lighter blue like the DX had, he looks more plasticky looking plus with all the label prints all around the body...i don't know...it doesn't work for me at all. These may have gone well for the DX Godaikin during its time but not for the GX-31.

Furthermore, if their intentions were to copy the look of the DX version, why are some of the sticker (?) labels different from the DX? They should have just copied exactly what the DX looked like so that it can be truly said "respect for the volt-in box"?

Cyclone Blue
"No Gnu is Good Gnu like Gary Gnu"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 16 November, 2008 - 20:35
Voltes

I want this one...

Owie's picture
Posted by Owie on 27 May, 2010 - 07:04
Voltes-V Loose part help

Hey Guys,

This part fell out of my Voltes-V mint out of the box.
It was lodged inside the torso #4 Frigate vehicle.
I peeked inside the yellow cockpit of the Frigate and saw that there was another identical piece like it, which is like a track for the Cockpit to slide in and out.

Before I try and fix this, could anyone with a Voltes-V take a peek and see if there should be two of these pieces inside the torso, or is this a factory flaw I got with an extra piece?

Any help appreciated before I try to ram this back in there.

Arbit's picture
Posted by Arbit on 10 February, 2013 - 20:20
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net