CollectionDX Network

Tetsujin 28 VS Black Ox Set

Comments

26 comments posted
Couldn't Find it either!

I had trouble locating Tetsujin 28 as well and only saw it once at one of the Keller Model Kit Swap meet at the Buena Park hotel. It was a $100.00, it was either buy that and get one item for the day or get a bunch of items I settled on the later. I don't regret the choice but it would have been cool to own it.

I think I'm buying my first SOC today, Minerva. I've resisted so long but I just can't help it anymore! Dave's glass case full of Chogokins & Kaiju inspired me to get my glass-case out of the garage and fill it up with my collection. And SOC is my kind of Hi-brow toy. I'm going to be doing that this weekend.

This is a great set and I have a model kit of this version of Tetsujin 28 that I'm building for CDX, but I prefer the 50's version more!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 9 April, 2009 - 10:48
Minerva is a weak soc, dont

Minerva is a weak soc, dont judge the line by it lol.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 9 April, 2009 - 10:50
Minerva!

I DID IT!!!!! I TOOK THE SOC PLUNGE!!!!!!

What have I done......another collection to complete......ha ha

Minerva looks cool and sexy, I know its one of the more inexpensive SOC so I know it's going to lack what the other releases have. But I love Mazinger and his female battle partners, looking forward to getting the rest!

BTW Has Minerva not been reviewed on CDX?

Cheers!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 9 April, 2009 - 11:32
Wow, you got inspired to by

Wow, you got inspired to by some SOCs because of me?!?! That's pretty funny considering I've sold just about all of mine (the only die-casts I have left are die-cast kaiju). And oddly, it doesn't look like there is a review of the original Minerva here. Looks like you've just volunteered for the job.. ;)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 9 April, 2009 - 12:12
I envy you

I envy you opening your first SOC, even if it's Minerva. My first was a Maz Lady too, Dianan. I was totally floored by the weight and quality, so you can imagine what what it was like to move onto other entries (Dancouga is still great, so get him if you can).

Photos look great, Josh! I was on the fence on this set, but I need it now. This site is dangerous.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 9 April, 2009 - 12:15
I like the SOC Minerva,

I like the SOC Minerva, especially the one in purple with the wings. I have that one and Diana from the Mazinger Angel series.

The review makes me want the Tetsujin more but my tastes lately have been with the SPEC line mostly.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 10 April, 2009 - 09:32
Minerva, weak?

I disagree. She's gorgeous! Lacking in accessories, yes, but looks amazing on display and feels great to hold. Anyway, great review and made me re-think my planned purchase of the GX-24M...

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 12 April, 2009 - 03:37
I take back what I said

I take back what I said Josh, I know when I was fiddling with T-28 at CDX HQ I was kinda hating on it a little because of the double joints. After reading your review and seeing the pics of the cool poses it can do I'm sold. I'm still gonna hate a little on Black Ox cuz' of the lack of die-cast in the legs. It just felt way too light.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 9 April, 2009 - 13:19
Minerva II

Yes Dave, it has less to do with the particular line of SOC but the vibe your case sets off with a mixed assortment of Chogokin & kaiju. I'm just one of those collectors that has to have everything and I had to really settle on what new Japanese toy I wanted to collect. If you look at all my reviews about 90% are toys I bought when I was a kid, SOC is something that can get my fix and grow with.

I mean look at this release that is being reviewed. Beautiful! It's not the Godaikin version but I'll be more than happy with it when I get it. Also I know I had to make a choice soon as SOC is still around 50 stock releases ( Not counting recolored, etc), after 100 that would be a problem.

I'm looking forward to the reviewing Minerva.
Thanks mates!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 9 April, 2009 - 13:55
130-150 for two SOCs doesn't

130-150 for two SOCs doesn't seem so bad at all.

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 9 April, 2009 - 14:08
Josh you are so

Josh you are so cruel.....what took you so long to make this review,i was dying to see a review for it >_<.

Anyway i will buy these Tetsujin 28 and Black Ox next month for sure!! (took me two months too save my money for it v_v) and to think that my first SOC would be this!? I think im gonna cry when i open them out the box...Given that these guys were my childhood memories!!

Question: are the name plates for their stand metal or plastic?

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 9 April, 2009 - 14:19
Haha sorry it took so long,

Haha sorry it took so long, I am still catching up after Japan!. The stand plates are plastic.

Josh

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 9 April, 2009 - 14:30
Pretty Colors

Does the blue on 28 look as nice in person as it does in the pictures?

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 9 April, 2009 - 16:42
I can answer this question,

I can answer this question, yes, yes it does!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 9 April, 2009 - 17:49
Cool Colours

Yes it does. Definitely!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 10 April, 2009 - 15:05
Hmmm something missing from

Hmmm something missing from these toys....the eye lighting gimmick from the older tetsujin and black ox,why didnt they gave them this gimmick? thats pretty lame of bandai....

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 9 April, 2009 - 20:33
No light-up eyes because of

No light-up eyes because of the swapping heads.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 9 April, 2009 - 20:49
I saw this set in NYC at toy

I saw this set in NYC at toy tokyo over Xmas. Really wanted to pick it up but they wanted 180$. They're prices are satanic at the store. 200$+ for the DX Reideen.

servbot30's picture
Posted by servbot30 on 9 April, 2009 - 22:07
GX-44 TETSUJIN 28

When I heard that BANDAI was ready to issue two versions of Tetsujin 28 namely Tetsujin 28 and Black OX sold separately and/or as a set, I had to make a quick decision - which version to buy.

Living in a small house, and a room (which looks more like a warehouse)chock full of chogokin boxes I simply couldn't buy another large boxed Soul of Chogokin so I opted sadly for the GX-44 not the GX-44S.

The GX-44 Tetsujin 28 is a masterpiece in its own right and a vey welcome addition to my ever-growing collection of Japanese Super Robots.

My only grumble about T28 are his hands - which are just blue plastic! However, if you look closer at Bandai's advertisements of T28 and at photos from last year's Shizuoka Hobby Show or Tokyo Toy Show you will notice that Bandai's Tetsujin 28 had his fists spray painted in the very same bright metallic blue as the rest of his body!!!!!!!!!!!

That would have made Tetsujin 28 more complete, more metal-lic and less toylike.

Besides, Josh I think you either forgot or didn't notice that the Vision Controller has telescopic antennae which can be extended.

All in all a very good review and I didn't notice any difference in the use of cameras.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 10 April, 2009 - 15:35
I didn't notice -

I didn't notice - thanks!

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 10 April, 2009 - 16:37
Does Black Ox come with a

Does Black Ox come with a Skateboard?

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 10 April, 2009 - 21:28
Saddly no but the old

Saddly no but the old revoltech one does XD!!

see his tricks down here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2OcfaW19i8

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 12 April, 2009 - 11:45
vision controller

That vision controller is a work of art in its own right. Impeccable design.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 11 April, 2009 - 12:37
Vision Controller

Much agree, it's kind of understated but I've been thinking about that controller almost more the the Chogokin!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 April, 2009 - 13:06
The collapsing leg joints

The collapsing leg joints are a pretty impressive idea, and well implemented.

Mobe1969's picture
Posted by Mobe1969 on 16 January, 2010 - 20:24
man I got my box set in El

man I got my box set in El Salvador central america were chogokins go for 125$ a piece. Gagantor is a nice toy but really disapointed in Black Ox. That what made me start collecting Revoltech for their price and Aoshima for their metal content.

francisco arguello's picture
Posted by francisco arguello on 22 January, 2010 - 22:26
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net