CollectionDX Network

Raideen DX Fade in Set

Comments

14 comments posted
I can vouch for that..

Cant vouch for the GX-04s Grendizer set, Baikanfu or Irongear boxes, but yeah the box is HUUUUUGGEE!

I think the 'Sparker' could have been a single piece, not 3 microscopic parts. Cant see the reasoning behind this.

Also I think the 'God Face Mountain' should have been a replacement base for the normal one. Put a black box underneath it to house all the accessories, like gunbuster, do away with the Gold Reideen and put that hatch on the actual figure perhaps.. To each his own i spose.

Thanks for the mentioning about the bow with the folding arms in your STD set review.. I didnt even notice it.

I didnt like it at first and wished I'd just got the STD version, but the more I look at it the more I kinda like it. That 'God Face Mountain' is pretty cool.

eitlobsaboo's picture
Posted by eitlobsaboo on 13 June, 2008 - 06:38
Amazing Base!

Sweet! This set looks amazing. I am a sucker for toys with intricate bases, and/or playsets. I hope people buy a lot of these, as I am a huge fan of the playset figures and love it when Bandai makes them. During the mid - late 1990's I almost exclusively collected playsets and large scale vehicles, through which I (re)discovered the Godaikin line. I have to pass on this for the time being (i'm in the middle of intense down-sizing phase for space and clarity reasons) but i'm sure i'll be picking one up at some point in the next year or two. Thanks again as always Josh for the deluxe set review- both my eyes and wallet can stay happy and full this way.

While I like Bandai's black plastic bases, I really enjoy the larger, playset displays, like the Mazinger Base, the Gundam-model kit modular hanger sets, or the unnofficial Voltes V Base. They look great on the shelf, and really add a lot of value to these figures. I think Bandai would do themselves and fans a big service by making a few all-plastic playset/bases/stands for some of the other figures.

A perfect example of one that people would eat up would be a base for the GX-04S Grendizer Set. While it does look cool with its all black plastic base, I'd love a large opening "secret base" which could store all the accessories and the UFO, and open to "launch" like on the show.

The only turn-off to this set is that in the stone pyramid, there isn't a place for all the accessories to be stored. And that's very minor.

It's so cool that Bandai has finally answered fans pleas and released Raideen. With Daimos coming along, and all the other things coming down the line, SOC it seems is finally answering the thousands of fan requests in 2008, and not just with new robots, but the re-issue of some of their most popular figures. I hope that people buy this in droves, especially since all the forum chatter in several languages for years and years demanding a SOC Raideen- often people post demands for toys, and then when it's released, they skip out on actually buying it.

Dag, Cheers, Bandai! This Bud's for you.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 13 June, 2008 - 10:02
DX Version?

So the Dx version comes with extra accessories but also includes EVERYTHING that came with the STD release? I like Raideen but not enough to buy both versions... but then I could display one in God Bird Mode while putting the other in robot mode.... decisions, decisions....

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 13 June, 2008 - 10:09
SOC

I finally put a bid for my first SOC toy (but Lost).... I have always loved the SOC line and a sucker for numbered toys. They remind me so much of my Godaikin collection and they seem to release items that I like.

These last two reviews are great and it was great that you reviewed both versions of the toy so nothing was left uncovered.

I will never question your love for Raideen again!

Have a great weekend!
LF

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 June, 2008 - 10:43
really?

oh man, are you missing out! The line is so much fun!!!

and what a great time to get into SOC- there's been a lot for sale for very cheap lately on ebay! Voltes and Grendizer especially (both were very expensive and hard to come by for quite some time but were re-issued and are currently pretty cheap!)

a few not to miss: Mazinger 01R, Great Mazinger 02R, Grendizer Spazer Set 04S, the Getters, Voltes V, Combattler, the T-21 robots (21 & Black Ox), Xabungle, Baikanfu... I could go on and on, but just click the Soul Of Chogokin category and you'll see.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 13 June, 2008 - 13:14
The first group of figures

The first group of figures I'm going for are the Mazinger related SOC figures. I knew it was bound to happen sooner or later so I better start now, why keep putting it off! Ha ha!

There are quite a few dealers at Frank & Sons that carry the line at very reasonable prices, and I think I'm going to pick one up tomorrow.

Actually what has held me up with purchasing them is sort of Ebay's fault. It was hard to determine what was a deal, market price or overpriced when you have dealers pulling of the whole Item is $25 and shipping is $49.00 so they won't get charged high ebay insert fees. I've kind of figured out what figures are worth what now and I'm looking for those deals now.

Cheers
LF

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 June, 2008 - 15:45
Correction....

that would be the "T-28" robots ("28" & Black Ox)...

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 13 June, 2008 - 21:44
Don't forget about the AOSHIMA Getters!

When your collecting addiction takes flight, just remember that, when OVA Getters are concerned, AOSHIMA is number one!!!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 13 June, 2008 - 21:50
The only box that might beat

The only box that might beat it is GunBuster, but I'm pretty sure the DX Raideen is the biggest.

I've been waiting for this one since SoC started, it's been a long time coming, and although it's not perfect, it's a welcome addition to the line.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 13 June, 2008 - 11:10
Great Review

Nice review Josh. I dig your shrine to Reideen. Add a couple of candles in there.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 13 June, 2008 - 11:21
The gunbuster box is

The gunbuster box is probably fatter as the DX box is about average width compared to godmars or ideon or something, but its at least 10cm taller, making it out of place with the rest of the big box SOC.

I wish i had more storage space..

eitlobsaboo's picture
Posted by eitlobsaboo on 13 June, 2008 - 20:44
Sukita. Sukiya!!

So when are they coming out with Dangard Ace? One more,and I'll be done. What's Matsumoto-san's email address? I'll worry him to death! DA is one of my favorite super robots. Of course I have all of the 70's comics,which were pretty well done. I have the DX version of this. It looks good,but too fragile in the wrong places.

"The poodle is the Uncle Tom of the dog world."

g1nks's picture
Posted by g1nks on 15 June, 2008 - 02:28
This was probably my least

This was probably my least favorite SOC to date. The way the arm parts fall off so easily cannot be stressed enough, imo. I would superglue them on, but I can honestly see myself selling this in the future and wouldn't want to effect it's value by doing that.

The single most annoying thing for me is though is that the golden Reideen doesn't fit in the mountain base like it should. Josh said his did, but this picture seems to suggest otherwise. See where his left foot is not lining up properly in the part of the base floor molded for it? You can't adjust his legs or feet to fix it either. That sort of thing enrages me. Why even bother to designate a spot where it's suppose to stand if it can't even stand in that spot?

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 15 June, 2008 - 11:27
Ah, yes...

Ah, yes... I see your point, Dave. It is seems a little off...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 15 June, 2008 - 18:31
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net