CollectionDX Network

Mazinger Z

Comments

22 comments posted
Nice Mazinger

Wow! I can't wait to pick this one up! Honestly they could never release too many Mazinger, it's always a cool design that I simple can't get sick of! Keep bringing them on, especially if they look like this.
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 14 July, 2009 - 13:38
I so very much want this,

I so very much want this, but have been waiting for the US release. Where can I actually get one at a brick and mortar store?

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 14 July, 2009 - 13:46
You *should* be able to

You *should* be able to order it at your local comic shop.

I say *should* because some retailers are too lazy to open up a copy of Previews, do some clicky-clicky on the computer, or order anything other than Wolverine busts and half-naked women.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 15 July, 2009 - 09:43
pass

I was thinking about it, but will wait for the version with the big hand...Josh did you get your free gloves and cloth???

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 14 July, 2009 - 15:12
gloves and cloth only come

gloves and cloth only come with the Asia release.

No white gloves for yankees!

expect this type of thing with every SOC release from now on (the asia exclusive item to make it different than the US one)

Most US folks have been skipping collecting the extras for years now.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 15 July, 2009 - 09:46
Sold! Thanks to your nice review...

I don't own a Mazinger but have like over 15 SOC's in my collection. Nice review. I'll pass on the fist Mazinger and pick-up the new Getta Dragon when he goes on sale he's still not as impressive as the previous Getta Dragon but cool. Josh you say Big-O won't be sold in the states can't he be bought through one of the sponsors on your site Hobby Japan?

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 14 July, 2009 - 17:28
Non-usa vendors like Angolz,

Non-usa vendors like Angolz, Anime-Export, HLJ etc.. will all still carry Big-O

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 14 July, 2009 - 19:02
Will the Toynami release

Will the Toynami release have a lower or equal price than its Japanese yen price?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 15 July, 2009 - 06:41
US ver is about $69.99, so

US ver is about $69.99, so comparable price, but cheaper shipping because its not coming from Japan.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 15 July, 2009 - 08:02
Honestly this is THE best

Honestly this is THE best mazinger z in IMO,its pretty damn articulated and beautiful by looking at the video D:!!!

One thing I liked is that new attachment so you can display Mazinger Z in flight mode!! They should had included that for the SOC GX-44 since tetsujin 28 flies ALOT in the anime :(

NOTE:

Josh does this new attachment works for T28? (I doubt it though ^_^;)

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 15 July, 2009 - 09:04
that commercial is awesome

that commercial is awesome (above link is broken BTW)

my wife saw me watching the commercial over my shoulder, her eyes went wide, identifying with the japanese buisnessman, saying "That's me!!" - an experience tons of 30-something japanese have probably been having too watching the tv spot.

We're both huge Mazinger Z fans, and I've been loving the new show, but I was planning on skipping this guy (GX-01R for life!)

But as soon as she saw the white gloves, and the awesome 70's stop-motion posing, she had to have one. "You're getting the one that comes with the gloves, right? You can't skip out on the gloves!"

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 15 July, 2009 - 09:53
When they introduce a

When they introduce a Mazinger SoC that doesn't require swapping out forearms to have Rocket Punch capability, I'll call that "done". Not a single iteration sooner.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 15 July, 2009 - 16:03
A great chogokin

This is my favorite Mazinger by far! But not without a few gripes of course. Josh mentioned a few. I've had mine about 6 weeks or so,
and got the "free gift" white gloves and cloth, as I live in Bangkok.
I must say I was a little disappointed there were no "iron cutter" arms. (Maybe they're not shown in the new cartoon?)
Only one hover plider? Thats a little lame, if you want to display it on the stand then there is not one in Mazinger's head.
And don't lose it! because, it really really is loose. That jet scrander really rocks though. All in all no regrets and a must buy if you need another Mazinger.
Bandai really put some soul in this chogokin!
Can't wait for GX-51 Getter Dragon and GX-49 Shin Mazinger Z!

Astroman's picture
Posted by Astroman on 19 July, 2009 - 22:56
the GX-01...

too bad the GX-01 didn't fare well with age...

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 19 August, 2009 - 07:25
I LOVE GX 01!!!!!!!

I personally think that the GX 01 is still the best! Not only is the history value there (first SOC), but I gots to have my NAVAL MISSILE! Come on now.
Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 28 March, 2011 - 19:27
Updated GX-01 Mazinger Z SOC

Updated GX-01 Mazinger Z SOC review this week!

Cheers
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 29 March, 2011 - 12:13
GX-49 Shin Mazinger Z

I will be getting this one instead. Sooo glad I waited for this release!

GX-49 Shin Mazinger Z
http://www.bigbadtoystore.com/bbts/product.aspx?product=ban12245&mode=retail

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 11 September, 2009 - 12:08
GX 45 and 49

Got both GX-45 and 49 for what it's worth, GX-45 is more articulate than 49 but the GOD SCRANDER evens it up!!

badman1014's picture
Posted by badman1014 on 6 November, 2009 - 13:25
The GX-49 is utter cr.....

While agreeing that this is one SOC Mazinger to own, I am really disappointed with the GX-49, it is mostly plastic, the legs and feet are all plastic too, and makes it difficult to balance the toy when trying to pose due to the fact that the only things metal on it are the torso and the shoulders. The God Scrander may be nice, but it's also true that you will have to close both eyes on the finger type things which cannot be removed when displaying in flying mode. Truly I believe that the GX-49 is just another cash in attempt by Bandai on the horde of Mazinger fans who really can't resist buying any Mazinger chogokin toy out on the market. Also the opened hands supplied are far too big for the scale of the model, and seem to be designed in scale with the classic Mazinger, the GX-01R, which i still consider the best. If you're on a budget like I am, buy the GX-45 or better still the GX-01R, good toys, but completely ignore the GX-49, it's utter crap...Sometimes I really wish smaller companies like CM's could afford a Go Nagai licence, a Brave Gokhin Mazinger would undoubtly be a shrine to such a cult anime figure. It would be expensive yes, but it would give the collector all his value for money in terms of detail and workmanship...

GOLDRAKE Avantiiiiiiiiii !!!

maltagokhin's picture
Posted by maltagokhin on 27 December, 2009 - 08:25
UGHHHHH!

Well I just got my pre-ordered God Scrander edition. Yep maltagokhin is correct, The entire lower legs and feet are molded plastic??? How the hell can Bandai do this to us? I am serious, Really! For that kinda cash I want answers. What an underhanded switch out! Who the hell would have guessed that kinda crap was on the table at pre-order time? Don't go telling me it has to do with the small slots to engage the tabs on God Scrander- (not buying that). One word: OUCH.
Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 27 December, 2009 - 22:01
sometimes i wonder if the

sometimes i wonder if the manufacturers take one important thing into consideration, i.e. most of us collectors are on a budget...And when one makes a mistake, it will only keep him away from the next purchase...

GOLDRAKE Avantiiiiiiiiii !!!

maltagokhin's picture
Posted by maltagokhin on 31 December, 2009 - 10:04
Plastic Feet?

Check out your feet on this guy. Any plastic sprue flash on the bottom edge of the back of the feet? I suspect they are indeed plastic but I don't have this version to confirm. I can easily feel the temperature difference between the plast.-vs-metal on GX-47, and GX-51.
If so... please update this review to reflect the actual metal/plastic content. It is indeed an important factor in the world of high end chogokin. Thanks.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 28 February, 2010 - 11:17
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net