CollectionDX Network

Groizer-X

Comments

13 comments posted
Great review. I've been

Great review. I've been waiting for somebody to take the plunge on this one before committing to it. Yamato going into a new direction either means problems or awesome, it looks like this one is the latter.

This one sounds more substantial than the Braigar, but it's much less complex, so the trade-off is metal for parts count.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 1 May, 2008 - 11:35
Great review Sanjeev!

I love this toy! I got it about 2 weeks ago and cant seem to put it down. Its really solid with lots of die-cast. Groizer blows away Braiger IMHO. Yamato's G-NU Hagane is shaping up to be a great line. Lets hope Dangard is as good or better!

-Dan

CollectionDX Staff

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 1 May, 2008 - 14:24
The robot mode

The robot mode got many articulation from what I saw in the pics. Many articulation=lot of fun. To bad the price a bit steep. Let's wait if Dangard Ace can make me burn my wallet.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 2 May, 2008 - 02:22
Nice watch. Oh and the toy

Nice watch. Oh and the toy is cool too. I'm glad you enjoyed the "Trasformazione" of Groizer video. Leave it our friends in Italy to catalog these crazy robots.

-Andrew

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 2 May, 2008 - 10:33
Appreciate the comments, guys!

Yeah, I'm really surprised there hasn't been more coverage of this toy. There was a little talk on TBDX about it, but compared to your average SoC, this toy got about as much fanfare as your average Revoltech! :P

I guess in a lot of ways, Yamato has a lot to prove to people because of their history of subpar design/QC on their higher-end items. From what I'm told, due to significant changes to the internal politics at Yamato, those days are long-gone. For example, I've heard that their heart-stoppingly fragile-looking SV-51 from Macross Zero is actually a very solid toy. Maybe we should get around to reviewing one...

Anyway, with such a robust Groizer from Yamato, I'm definitely looking forward to their Danguard!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 2 May, 2008 - 11:02
SV-51

... soon. :)

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 2 May, 2008 - 22:02
disagree

don't mean to be a fly in the oinment, But I know these pages help me decide to buy alot of chogokin so had to give my personal opinion.
The robot to me was a disappointment, mine had a flawed paint job, the head motion between robot and bomber was weird and seemed forced. In robot mode he was xtremely possable almost to a fault. he was kind of floppy and legs went in weird awkward angles to easily for me. I displayed for a small time, then sold mine for a minor loss. I expected alot from the pics and was disappointed. I do make the disclaimer that I kind of like complex modern chogokin BUT do like simple solid designs (have to say my least favorite ever as example is SOC Daku Maru-you just look at it and gaiking and space dragon fall apart...waaay to many gagets not well constructed).

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 2 May, 2008 - 22:08
By all means, disagree! If

By all means, disagree! If we all thought the same thing, this website wouldn't be necessary!

It's good that you mentioned the flawed paint job on yours. I completely spaced it in the review, but there actually is a paint flaw on mine. If you look at the pic at the very top of the review, you can see a little blob of blue paint on the left-hand side of his chest. It's noticeable, but doesn't really bother me.

I'm not sure what you mean about the head motion between robot and bomber, though. In bomber mode, there's a little transformation to the chest piece that takes just a couple seconds (as you can see in my video review), but when the bomber mode is complete, the head is flush against the shoulders and cannot move (which is how it should be). In robot mode, it has a full range of movement.

Hehe...I almost thought the same thing about the articulation: almost too much. But the joints on mine are tight as a drum and the toy is *very* stable. I didn't find it floppy at all (again, you can see how robust mine was in my video above). Maybe you got a lemon???

As for your disclaimer about what you like, it sounds like we have somewhate similar tastes. I like simple and complex vintage chogokin (because either way, they're solid toys that can take some abuse/actual play). The SoC Daikumaryu, a modern chogokin, was a nightmare.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 6 May, 2008 - 10:36
keep it up

You, Josh, and everybody really do great reviews keep it up. And maybe mine had a lemoney scent on the joints, I know my GX-27 Gaiking the face plates pops off if I breath wrong and no one else had that problem.

apex3

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 6 May, 2008 - 20:22
Manga GREEN limited

I just ordered the Manga GREEN limited version from HobbyLink Japan. Looks great and on sale for the holidays!!!

GN-U Hagane (in Japanese, "gun'yuu" means "rival chiefs," and "hagane" means "steel")

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 20 November, 2009 - 14:50
If you've been waiting for a

If you've been waiting for a better time to pick this up, it's on sale now at HLJ for almost 50% off. My willpower is wavering, I might get one now.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 1 March, 2010 - 22:44
It is nice!

Well worth the sale price! BIG BOX and heavy chogokin. And best of all - unlike Bandai's latest releases, the feet are die cast.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 2 March, 2010 - 10:16
YAMATO - GN-U Hagane - GROIZER-X

Right now I'm watching Groizer-X on DVD in Italian for the first time! It is a good anime and the robot/bomber is cool.

But before I buy the diecast by Yamato, I wanted to read a review about the toy. And yes, your review has convinced me to go and buy it especially now that it is selling for 5,000 Yen which is roughly $60.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 18 August, 2010 - 17:17
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net